We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in Salem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel in Salem

Save Saved
You added The Grand Hotel in Salem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grand Hotel in Salem
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Liberty Street SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 hotels in Salem
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Back in Salem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I used to live in Salem when I attended Willamette University, so I know the town pretty well. This hotel is new to me, but I deeply appreciate both the proximity to campus and their green efforts: windows that open, EV chargers in the free garage and offsetting all energy use. Solar panels power the adjacent convention center, and a display shows how much power is being generated. We appreciated that towels we hung up for further use were actually left in place: so many hotels have cards that say they won't change towels unless they are on the floor, but most do even if you hang them up. Bravo!

Breakfast was a good buffet, but it seems odd that a place that goes the extra mile in other areas would still have Froot Loops (=not real food) in the buffet. We still stuffed our teen with oatmeal and fruit, sausage and pancakes. Coffee cart made a good cup of soy mocha, though the cocoa powder had milk in it, so I had to use my own.

The family also enjoyed the pool, and had it nearly to themselves. Clean rooms, operable windows, room service had desserts from the Konditorei (a Salem institution), easy walking distance to Kwan's Chinese. There's a McMenimen's pub an easy five-minute drive away too. Love the microwave and fridge in the room, and leather sofas.

Bathroom was on the dark side, but the lighted makeup mirror helped with makeup and served as a nightlight. Mattress very firm.

Extra mile: turns out we left a favorite pillow behind: we called when we were about an hour out, and they said they would call back once all the housekeeping carts were back in. No one ever called, but a package arrived three days later with the pillow in it.

Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Road noise from Liberty street can be a problem, especially if you like the window open: the Mexican...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    100
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
64
90
27
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the moment I arrive 'til the time I leave the service is excellent and the hotel is clean with the rooms very quiet. Even when an event is booked in the hotel the service is always top notch and they never skip a beat...they also have a special heart for our military and families and that is a good thing...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

SInce I travel to Salem each year for business, I've stayed at a number of hotels. Once I found the Grand Hotel (formerly Phoenix) I haven't changed. It is a very clean and comfortable hotel with good sized rooms. There are all the amenities including free underground parking, well equipped workout room, and very good hot breakfast included in the room price. And the hotel is right in the center of downtown Salem a fairly short walk to the capitol and Willamette University.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We found this on the Internet. One of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at. Everthing from the decore to the cleanliness and the fantastic restaurant, this hotel is top notch. The staff were very professional. The location is downtown Salem and an easy walk to major department stores.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palouse
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was my first trip to Salem and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Grand Hotel! The rooms had a lot of space and also included a microwave and refrigerator. A free continental breakfast is included (which you don't find often in large hotels) and there is no charge for parking, so you are able to come and go as you please. The one negative I had was the firmness of the mattresses, I like mine a little more on the softer side. Overall, it was a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

On the positive, let me say that the staff was outstanding! They were very courteous, friendly and helpful both at the registration desk and in the restaurant. They are definitely better at this hotel than many places I've stayed. The room was very spacious with even plenty of room for a couch. I travel frequently and I've paid much more for a room much smaller than this. Previous reviews have complained about the quality of the hotel and the rooms. These are old reviews. There was nothing to complain about in either area so they must have updated the hotel since these reviews. The restaurant fare and atmosphere is great.

On the negative, there are a few things to be noted. The beds are firm so I had a lot of difficulty sleeping since I prefer softer beds. Also, if you are a woman you are going to have a problem. The lighting in the bathroom is very dim. I had to apply my makeup by memory. Lastly, unfortunately, it is true that the ceilings are thin. I was woken up in the morning by someone taking a shower.

All that being said, I've stayed in all of the better ranking hotels in Salem. This is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Smithari,

Thank you for your assessment of our hotel on your recent visit to Salem, we are so pleased that you've found us after apparently trying some of the other quality facilities in Salem. You've identified probably one of the most difficult issues we have in the hotel industry; what is the perfect mattress? Please let us know when you are returning, we have extra matress pads that can be put on the bed to add extra comfort for someone enjoying that plushness. We will be celebrating our 8 year anniversary in March and we have several items being enhanced and improved to keep the value of our hotel something people want to pay for. Again, thanks for the thoughtful evaluation!

Scott Snyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Grad Hotel in Salem is the finest hotel in the city. I was amazed at the comfort of the accommodations and at a reasonable price. Forty minutes away from the Portland International airport, the location is ideal for enjoying the spectacular wine-country of western Orgeon from Portland to Eugene - ideal location and attached to a university town that is charming.

Room Tip: It is attached to the convention center of Salem - both new facilities. Restuarantes are nearby and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel in Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel in Salem

Address: 201 Liberty Street SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salem
#2 Business Hotel in Salem
#4 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel in Salem 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Grand Hotel in Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Grand Salem
Hotel Phoenix Grand
The Grand Hotel In Salem Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel in Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.