We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ammenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel in Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel in Salem to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel in Salem
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Liberty Street SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Salem
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Palouse
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Ammenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was my first trip to Salem and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Grand Hotel! The rooms had a lot of space and also included a microwave and refrigerator. A free continental breakfast is included (which you don't find often in large hotels) and there is no charge for parking, so you are able to come and go as you please. The one negative I had was the firmness of the mattresses, I like mine a little more on the softer side. Overall, it was a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    118
    26
    9
    5
See reviews for
77
106
29
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

On the positive, let me say that the staff was outstanding! They were very courteous, friendly and helpful both at the registration desk and in the restaurant. They are definitely better at this hotel than many places I've stayed. The room was very spacious with even plenty of room for a couch. I travel frequently and I've paid much more for a room much smaller than this. Previous reviews have complained about the quality of the hotel and the rooms. These are old reviews. There was nothing to complain about in either area so they must have updated the hotel since these reviews. The restaurant fare and atmosphere is great.

On the negative, there are a few things to be noted. The beds are firm so I had a lot of difficulty sleeping since I prefer softer beds. Also, if you are a woman you are going to have a problem. The lighting in the bathroom is very dim. I had to apply my makeup by memory. Lastly, unfortunately, it is true that the ceilings are thin. I was woken up in the morning by someone taking a shower.

All that being said, I've stayed in all of the better ranking hotels in Salem. This is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Smithari,

Thank you for your assessment of our hotel on your recent visit to Salem, we are so pleased that you've found us after apparently trying some of the other quality facilities in Salem. You've identified probably one of the most difficult issues we have in the hotel industry; what is the perfect mattress? Please let us know when you are returning, we have extra matress pads that can be put on the bed to add extra comfort for someone enjoying that plushness. We will be celebrating our 8 year anniversary in March and we have several items being enhanced and improved to keep the value of our hotel something people want to pay for. Again, thanks for the thoughtful evaluation!

Scott Snyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Grad Hotel in Salem is the finest hotel in the city. I was amazed at the comfort of the accommodations and at a reasonable price. Forty minutes away from the Portland International airport, the location is ideal for enjoying the spectacular wine-country of western Orgeon from Portland to Eugene - ideal location and attached to a university town that is charming.

Room Tip: It is attached to the convention center of Salem - both new facilities. Restuarantes are nearby and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is located in downtown Salem and it is first class. The elegance of the lobby was impressive, not overdone but very tasteful. The room was very comfortable with a relaxing arrangement with the couch and desk nearest the window and the bed further away. The price was a very good value. Free underground parking.

Room Tip: For the light sleeper request a room away from the street side. There are five floors, but should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burns, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Whereas I do not recommend the Grand Hotel Bridgeport, I DO recommend this place! Great downtown location, parking garage, very nice pool with wheelchair user accessibility (kudos to them!) the breakfast was very lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Grand Hotel was remodeled seven years ago but looks brand new. Spacious lobby which featured wonderful handmade quilts on the wall when I was just there along with tasteful decor and comfortable seating. The rooms are comfortable, beautifully decorated and spacious. Immaculately clean, it was a pleasure to come home to. The full breakfast included eggs, fresh fruit, sausage and either hash browns or pancakes as well as a choice of cereals--hot and cold. The staff at the desk and in the breakfast area were attentive, pleasant and eager to please. Parking below the hotel is included in the cost of the room and is plentiful. The hotel is connected to the Salem Convention Center and is a moderate walking distance from the Capitol building, Ford Art Museum and the Willamette University campus as well as the core downtown area of Salem.

Room Tip: Rooms that front onto Liberty Street--the entrance side of the hotel, may experience some traffic no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

When you walk in the lobby you know right away that this will be a really nice place to stay. Reasonably priced for the level of quality and decor. Full breakfast included, while buffet style, was plentiful and lots of options. Desk staff were friendly and very helpful. For a wine region there could be more tour options, as this is a convention hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel in Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel in Salem

Address: 201 Liberty Street SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salem
#3 Business Hotel in Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#5 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel in Salem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Grand Hotel in Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Grand Salem
Hotel Phoenix Grand
The Grand Hotel In Salem Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel in Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.