We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business in downtown Salem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel in Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel in Salem to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel in Salem
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Liberty Street SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Salem
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Good for business in downtown Salem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The Grand Hotel is ideally located directly adjoining the Salem Convention Center and state government offices. Rooms are very spacious though furnishings are traditional and rather nondescript. Bed is very comfortable and easily the best part of the room.
Other nice features: wireless internet, breakfast, and parking included with the room. Friendly service from the staff.
The hotel has a fitness room that is adequate but with less than top-line Precor equipment, and it may be possible to do laps in the indoor pool.
Definitely worth a return stay when in Salem for business.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    118
    26
    9
    5
See reviews for
77
106
29
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Traveling from San Diego to Seattle by car twice a year, we look for and appreciate great hotels. We expect to find a nice quality hotel in places like San Francisco, Bakerfield and Sacramento however we didn't expect that the best hotel during this trip would be in Salem, OR. Since we didn't know if we were staying over, we checked out and then back in a second night so we actually stayed in two rooms and they were both great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The Grand Hotel is a pretty hotel located in the heart of the small town of Salem. You can easily walk to the riverfront park, the capitol building, Willamette University, and the Salem Mall. There are many interesting restaurants and stores in the downtown area. Salem is a very walkable and friendly town.

My daughter and I stayed here for one night in March 2012 while visiting Willamette University. Our room was spacious with two queen beds, a couch, and a desk. The bathroom was also and had nice toiletries. In the morning there is a breakfast buffet, which we both enjoyed, especially the fresh fruit kababs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are large and clean. The bathroom has plenty of counter space. Their breakfast buffet is big and fresh. The only problem is the location of my room. It is right by the big AC units outside, so it is loud all night, it kept waking me up.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights on a business trip and found it perfectly pleasant. It's location is fairly central for Salem (though I have to say, the center of Salem didn't seem all that pleasant), though due to various one way streets, it wasn't that easy to find the entrance to the car park.

Anyway, the staff at check-in were very friendly and helpful, and the room itself was fine. Not the best work area I've had in a hotel, but adequate for the business traveler. Very comfortable bed, and a bathroom that while a little dated, was clean and in good condition.

The fitness center was small, but well equipped, as was the pool (small that is, equipment isn't really relevant!)

The only thing that was poor was the breakfast. It was a buffet breakfast, similar to most hotels of this type, but it was served in a dingy conference room, on long tables, and the selection was poor. I felt like I was back at school again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue River, Oregon
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night at the Grand Hotel as part of a birthday celebration. We had a very nice suite, quite roomy and comfortable. The central location made it possible to park the car, find great restaurant choices within one or two blocks and attend the Pink Martini concert at the historic Elsinore Theater. We were surprised at the generous breakfast buffet--several cooked choices and fresh fruit. The staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

We had a nice stay at the Grand Hotel while visiting our son at Western Oregon University, a short 20 minute drive away. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. We stayed on the third floor with a king room, overlooking the exhaust system with a view of the gym ( I imagine there are better views, we didn't spend much time in the room, so didn't bother us). Rooms are spacious, clean and there is mini fridge and microwave, also coffee pot. Flat screen tv with good selection of channels. The breakfast, which was included in the rate, was great! Couple concerns: blow dryer: inadequate, bring your own! Outside machine noise woke us our second night, however staff promptly brought us earplugs after offering to move us to a different side of the hotel (since it was 1am, we declined). From the staff's explanation, this must be a common occurrence. Towels could be softer and there was a small amount of peeling wallpaper in the bathroom. These are all minor things, and would definately stay there again and recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel in Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel in Salem

Address: 201 Liberty Street SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Business Hotel in Salem
#5 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel in Salem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Grand Hotel in Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Grand Salem
Hotel Phoenix Grand
The Grand Hotel In Salem Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel in Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.