We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place. Will Visit Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Global Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Marco Polo Global Restaurant
300 Liberty St SE, Salem, OR 97301
(503) 364-4833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 453 Restaurants in Salem
Restaurant details
Salem, OR
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice Place. Will Visit Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Marco Polo is about a five minute drive from where I live. I had never tried it before because I thought they served Indian food, which I didn't think I would like. Having found out they have four menus with different kinds of food, I gave it a try. They serve Chinese, European, Gluten Free & Vegetarian and Vegan food.

The food was very tasty, but the appetizers were quite oily. I will be back to try some of their other meals.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“a jewel in Salem, Oregon, very gluten-free friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We need to eat gluten free and as we were driving around looking for a place for dinner, was an electronic sign advertising gluten free and Chinese and vegetarian and Italian. We were sold on the GF part and went in. Really nicely decorated, not the traditional Chinese decor, but just a nicely appointed restaurant.

The GF menu was extensive (several pages of options). They change the cooking oil if needed before cooking to prevent contamination. I cannot remember being in a restaurant ever that had so many GF options across the different cuisines plus many GF desserts.

We had several dishes including sweet and sour tofu (I ma not a tofu fan but was in the mood for it). We really enjoyed it. Bright and lively. their brown rice was perfectly done. The chicken and vegetables was bland so this was a bit of a disappointment. The hot appetizer mushroom caps with pesto and parmesan was really, really good.

We ordered a piece of GF carrot cake. A tiny bit crumbly but the flavor was great (I have not eaten carrot cake for many years since I had never before seen it GF). Usually the only desserts options for GF eating is ice cream. I am not a big dessert eater but it is nice to have options to do so occasionally.

We will definitely be back next time we are in town. The prices are very reasonable. In fact, we checked the bill twice to make sure we had not been undercharged.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“my wife is gluten free but i am not and our daughter is vegetarin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

we are all very picky and also have health issues that cause complication at just any restraint. they have a full gluten free and a full vegan and vegetarian menu and if your not in the mood for Chinese or Asian food they have a full American and European menu. great food friendly staff and unique atmosphere

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“consistently fresh & friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We've had date evenings, family celebrations, and business events with guests from many cities in Japan and the US. Most guests arrived with very high expectations, familiar with gourmet Chinese and Vegetarian Cuisine. They are consistently impressed. Each person's order arrives with beautiful, fresh vegetables, local meats proudly served, and that signature "brown" (purple) rice (uniquely delicious). The delicate Samosa, Gyoza, and Harumaki are perfect appetizers, light and great for sharing. All Fried Rice dishes are ideal, with a sweet/savory flavoring and plenty of veggies/meats. A favorite is the Sweet & Hot Salmon, or Sweet & Hot Tofu. These are an improvement over the typical Sweet & Sours; the tofu or salmon are cooked to perfection and served with plenty of fresh broccoli. A wide variety of Chinese and European teas and desserts are worth your time as well. The servings are generous, so we always have a light & lovely meal to take home as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor food and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had dinner here based on good online reviews, but were sorely disappointed. The food is no better than your average strip mall Chinese buffet. Very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco Polo Global Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Marco Polo Global Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Global Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.