We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Food, and Beer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gilgamesh Brewing - The Campus

Gilgamesh Brewing - The Campus
2065 Madrona Ave SE, Salem, OR 97302
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 405 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Service, Food, and Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We found this place by accident and what a great find! Friendly service with lots of suggestions and smiles all around. Server really knew her beers and we weren't disappointed. Cuban sandwich was one of the best I ever had. Big projection screen and we got to see the Blazers win. We'll be back - soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

My mom & I went for lunch yesterday after other family members had eaten at Gilgamesh and loved it. It wasn't busy; our server was fairly friendly. My mom loved her mushroom burger and beer & cheese soup. My Cuban sandwich was odd---not like any Cuban sandwich I have ever had as it was served on toasted sourdough bread that was very difficult to eat (tough). The server told me it is one of the favorite menu items; I wouldn't call it a Cuban sandwich and I wouldn't order it again. Atmosphere was warm & inviting.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Terrible Service, food average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We went during lunch, it was not busy, however, our waitress ignored us for the most part. I ordered a Tomato soup which was extremely salty, she did not ask at all why I did not touch the soup. I had to mention it before we received our bill. The rest of the food was just OK at best.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
537 reviews 537 reviews
423 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Great beer, but can't figure out the service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have been here several times. I really like the beer. A new one we had was the Filbert Lager and it was quite refreshing. Happy Hour is great too!

But it seems like I can't get waited on and then all of a sudden several people are trying to help, but no one knows who is taking which table. This time there were only 2 tables of people besides those at the bar at yet we sat there a good 5 minutes waiting for someone to stop talking and come and see if we wanted something. A beer menu on the table would be great too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“First beer if vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stopped here on way to Bend ,OR. Husband looking for as many breweries as possible. Great choice. Outdoor patio beside of creek. Very good beer. Happy hour 3-6. Has riblets and ceased salad each & totale of 3 beers. $30. Good value too. Waiter knowledagable and extremely friendly. Will return on way back thru Salem. Loved it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilgamesh Brewing - The Campus also viewed

 

Been to Gilgamesh Brewing - The Campus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilgamesh Brewing - The Campus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.