We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this restored theatre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elsinore Theatre

Elsinore Theatre
170 High St. S.E., Salem, OR 97301
503-375-3574
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 72 things to do in Salem
Attraction details
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“I love this restored theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

When I was a kid about 50 years ago I would go to the theatre to watch movies. At that time the theatre was getting pretty run down but still majestic. Now it is wonderful to see it in all it's splendor. I really like going to see old movies on the big screen. It's just cool.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Incline Village
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Jewel of Salem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Mom and I have enjoyed a few silent movies with organ accompaniment. What wonderful evenings of entertainment. The building is being preserved with such care. The many volunteers are so proud. We love this place. Just found it this summer in good old downtown Salem. The various events at the theater are worth looking into. If nothing else stop by for a great evening of silent movie and organ. A wonderful rare experience. Big "thank you" to all the volunteers that meet and greet you at the theater. They do their jobs with such love of the building.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful theatre.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a beautiful historical theatre. We love to watch the American Ballet Academy Nutcracker each year with the kids. When you walk in the theatre, it takes you back in time to such a classy time period.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A grand venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A great cinema-to-live-performances venue conversion. All kinds of acts appear. Magic acts, national and local musicians. Just a great venue.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A Wurlitzer delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a small opening concert and watched a silent movie with accompaniment. What a fabulous venue!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elsinore Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elsinore Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.