We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A look inside Oregon's past.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Willamette Heritage Center at the Mill

The Willamette Heritage Center at the Mill
1313 Mill St. SE, Salem, OR 97301
503-585-7012
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 72 things to do in Salem
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Costumed guides take visitors through all stages of the wool production process at the restored 1889 water-powered wool mill located on a five-acre museum complex that also includes other museums and historical buildings. You can also view the water-driven turbine that provides electricity for the buildings.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A look inside Oregon's past.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were really impressed with this attraction. After spending three delightful hours wandering through the exhibits, we walked away with a good sense of Oregon's history and settlement.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, Idaho
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“More than expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My kids and I visited this attraction on our summer trip to Salem this week. There are so many things here to see and do. There are several historic buildings with exhibits in each one. There is the wool mill itself and all the associted exhibits. They have a traveling exhibition as well (a Lincoln one when we were there). They have a cafe, shops, and a historical socitey. The grounds are lovely and there is a lot of shade and benches to rest on. I really liked that it was self guided and that you could go at your own pace. I know they have guided tours and demonstrations at some times/days, but we weren't lucky enough to be there for them. Tuesday are free which is awesome! I was there we a 9 and 13 year old. Depending on how long you want to take you could probably easily spend upwards of 4 hours on site. My kids seemed to lose interest after about two hours. If you really want to read through everything, you might enjoy it more as an adults only trip. :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
“Beautiful Place to Get MARRIED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Went to a family members wedding at the Willamette Heritage Center at the Mill. IT is Beautiful. Loved every minute of it. Anyone looking for a place to get hitched check this place out. You will fall in love!!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALEM, OR
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lots Going On”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

There are a lot of events going on at this historic place. There is a self tour of the facility itself and then the shops and stores. I took in a great concert. Christmas time brings some great events and lights.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Glimpse into Salem's history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

There is no charge to stroll through the grounds along the Mill race. Feed some ducks; admire the preserved pioneer buildings on the grounds. If you have time, stop by the museum (FREE on Tuesdays!) and arrange to tour the homes. Details are here: http://www.willametteheritage.org/general_information.html

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Willamette Heritage Center at the Mill also viewed

 

Been to The Willamette Heritage Center at the Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Willamette Heritage Center at the Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.