We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Market and Deli

Downtown Market and Deli
145 Liberty St NE, Salem, OR 97301-3528
503-561-0334
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #192 of 455 Restaurants in Salem
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Good food, good service, good atmosphere=wonderful experience.
We picked this using tripadvisor and it was close to where we were visiting. Our server was very pleasant and traversed stairs to serve us. We were early for lunch and so the only group there. The portions very generous and my 16 yo was quite satisfied by the end of the meal. Totally recommend as a stop by if in the capital.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Middle Eastern market worth visiting.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This downtown market and deli is one of the few Middle Eastern places in the state capital of Salem. Upstairs is a modest Arabic restaurant. If you like Middle Eastern food, try this market, deli, and restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Sandwiches & Swarma in Salem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The deli has plentiful portions of fresh sliced Thurman's deli meat on french rolls. My favorite is the Pastrami. If you like gyros, you'll love the Swarma. They also have fresh baked mediterranean pies, hummus, and olives. Writing this has made me want to go back tomorrow.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Mediterranean Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Love the food and the ambiance. I miss North Africa. The Deli and restaurant bring this part of the world into view.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“This is last on my list of Middle-Eastern eateries!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

There is a difference between Lamb and Mutton. We suspect that fine line was crossed on our last visit.

Also, I bought a gift certificate through a local radio station. The fine-print restrictions were so onerous, that on my second failed attempt to use it. I tore it up in utter frustration. Granted, I should have read the fine print more carefully. I've bought dozens of these thing for other restaurants and never encountered such un-user-friendliness! Caveat Emptor!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Market and Deli also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Market and Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Market and Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.