We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small winery close to Salem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cubanisimo Vineyards

Cubanisimo Vineyards
1754 Best Rd NW, Salem, OR 97304
503.588.1763
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 37 Activities in Salem
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice small winery close to Salem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

If you don't want a long drive out of Salem, but still want to visit some of the better vinters of Willamette Valley Wines, I would recommend this as one of your choices. The very small vinter is producing some very interesting wines. While the 2008 was awarded, we were tasting some significant improvement in the 2009 pinot noir. It needs some time, but very promising. Nice small tasting room, with an interesting palate cleanser: Plaintain chips. And, if you are from the area, Salsa Lessons every month.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem,OR
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Better Around”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

There are other small wineries around this area that make better wine. I was not that impressed. I usually at least buy a "mercy bottle" when I taste. I passed at this place.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful wine tasting and salsa dancing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011 via mobile

Labor Day weekend was a blast at Cubanismo with smooth, good bodied wine, great music, friendly hosts and an experienced salsa dance instructor! We're looking forward to future visits!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful vineyard with some tasty wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Cubanisimo is a very picturesque vineyard in the West Hills outside of Salem. The grounds are very pretty and the tasting room is very romantic and beautiful. They have events throughout the year that focus on things like Salsa dancing and local musicians. They have a beautiful outdoor patio and you are always welcome to bring a picnic to a tasting if they are not having a food event.

They focus on Pinot Noirs here and they have some decent ones although they are not my favorites in the area.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Viva Cuba Libre! We will return for special Fiestas.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We heard about this vineyard and decided to pay a visit. We were very impressed. The grounds are very nice and very elegant. The vineyard is kind of "in the middle of nowhere", at least to us unfamiliar with the area, but our GPS took us right to it. However, once we hit a gravel road, the GPS said we had reached out destination - which wasn't true. We pulled into a sweet little ranch and the owner pointed us to Cubanisimo, a little further down the road. The Tasting Room is decorated tastefully in vintage Cuban photos, and there are books and clothing for sale, along with the wine. The tasting was $5 per person, and we got our fill of delicious wines. The Hostess was very pleasant and we had a great time talking. The wines are a bit on the expensive side, but we bought a bottle anyway. The special events held on the grounds sound like a lot of fun, so we will keep watching for those. If you're doing the wineries tour, keep this one on your list.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cubanisimo Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cubanisimo Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.