We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food, older place and very cute surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe 22 West

Cafe 22 West
5172 Dallas-Salem Hwy 22, Salem, OR 97304
503 363-4643
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 467 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, older place and very cute surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Small place but neat atmosphere, very friendly personnel there is also a vegetable and fruit store right with the restaurant

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“MMMMM pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Cafe 22 is one of those unexpected restaurants out in the middle of the highway that turns out to be a real find.

The decor puts you in the 50's diner mode and has the added bonus of outside seating in the summer. Great breakfasts with the usual plus gravy! Biscuits and gravy, hashbrowns and gravy, gravy where ever you want it. Good burger and sandwich menu, too.

But the heading says "mmmmmm pie." Yeah, assorted pies, particularly on the weekends are fresh made on site. Get the coconut cream! And in season, anything peach is fresh from the orchards behind the restaurant. Then you know you've gone to food heaven!

I understand with planning, much planning, in the warm months the owner can arrange large groups in an outdoor setting, say for a reunion?

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Love this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We enjoy eating outside. Great food and sevice. We enjoy the bountiful breakfasts. Good coffee. Also enjoy buying plants, fruit and vegetables at their farm stand in the summer.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cooks talked about spitting in our food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We went as a family with two young kids to have dinner. We were the only people in the restaurant. Everything seemed to be going fine until just before our dinner came out. My husband is in law enforcement and our ears perked up when we heard the cooks in the back, talking loud enough for us to hear them, about spitting in our food. I wrote a letter to the owner who called the police department and complained about my husband!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Delicious milkskakes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is sort of a 50's style restaurant along the highway to Dallas, Oregon. In the summer they have wonderful shortcakes and ice cream, along with a fruit/vegetable market. We eat there on a regular basis. Love their hamburgers.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 22 West also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 22 West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe 22 West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.