We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great selection and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Beer

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai Beer
1130 Lancaster Dr SE, Salem, OR
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #141 of 414 restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
eugene, OR
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great selection and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Really good, authentic Thai food in this South Salem restaurant. We use it as our midway stop between Eugene and Portland.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

52% Recommend
    5
    7
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice relaxed atmosphere and great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Thai Beer in West Salem is a regular dinner spot for me and my wife. Tom Kha soup with chicken, medium spicy - awesome. Every dinner we have had has been very good. The service is also very good. Always a pleasure.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quite enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I recently went with my friend on our way back from a hike at Opal Creek to this restaurant. It was clean, the staff was friendly and even helped me decide between the BBQ pork or garlic shrimp dishes.

My friend had the Chu Chee Salmon. It was delicious! The curry was light with the spicy level on medium. It was a wonderful blend. The salmon was a smidge dry but the sauce was so tasty I hardly noticed (when I tried her dish). I started with her meal b/c I don't like curry but her dinner was really good.

I had the garlic shrimp. It was made well with a nice light sauce but I felt more variety of vegies were needed. There was way too much broccoli. They had a lot of shrimp in the dish and as I said it was tasty. I did like my friend's dish better though.
We had the brown rice and it was made perfectly. It was a nice rich deep brown/red color and tasted great.

I also had a Thai ice tea, which I adore. There's was fabulous!

The portions were big and therefore worth the price. I love when I get a good meal and have leftovers for lunch the next day. Each of our meals were about $14.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Road
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Heavy on the sauces”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I like the service, but the sauces are too salty and too soy-sauce-y. In my opinion, Thai Orchid's food is much better.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Left Coast
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“I would rank it lower, but relative to other Thai food in Salem, it is just poor.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Ten years ago this place was some of the best Thai food in the Valley. No more.

Service was fine. Interior is a little run down. My kids commented that the place smelled like a Pizza Hut. I can live with run down and shoddy, but the food is just bad Thai. Maybe it is fine for people who think Taco Bell is good Mexican food, but this is not good Thai food. This is low quality ingredients and haphazard preparation. We did not finish our meal. We did not take the leftovers home in a box. We left wishing we had gone to Sonic Drive In.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Beer also viewed

 

Been to Thai Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Beer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.