We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great LQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Suites Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Suites Salem to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Suites Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   890 Hawthorne Ave Southeast, I-5 at Exit 253, Salem, OR 97301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    69
    28
    16
    11
See reviews for
102
51
15
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Wa.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Looks like a Super 8 from the outside but rather nice on the inside. the lobby was clean and a good size breakfast eating area. The room was very pleasant, clean and comfortable although the mattress was not showing even wear. I mean the left side was less sprung than the right side. Using a cpap i don't get the luxury to move around alot in bed.
So why the average rating? In the morning I turned the hot water on in the shower and waited and waited... No hot water. Tried calling the front desk and kept getting a busy signal. (made me assume this was a hotel wide problem. No choice but to take a cold shower. Went down to the front desk to complain and apparently only my room had the problem and the clerk said the phones were working fine, On her part she did make a very generous price adjustment (not free) The breakfast food supplied was typical ( didn't know bacon could be sliced so thin)
All in all a very forgettable experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here for 3 weeks on a business trip. Easily located off of the interstate besides a Costco. There is a Super WalMart nearby. Very close to shopping and dining on Lancaster Drive in Salem. The front desk staff was great... they knew me by name and always welcomed me "home" every evening upon returning to the hotel. Breakfast was decent... waffles, eggs, sausage, biscuits, cereals, fresh fruit, oatmeal, muffins etc. The only complaint I had was I was giving an adjoining room and they were booked solid the whole time I was there so I wasn't able to move. I heard my fair share of telephone conversations, people doing "it", loud televisions and other annoyances. Once I returned to the room and the bathroom floor was soaking wet. I called the manager and apparently the bathroom above me had flooded and the water dripped down into my bath... that was crazy! The parking lot was small and often crowded so if you didn't get there early enough a good parking space was hard to come by. Overall I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Can't say I would stay here again... I would prefer the Residence Inn down the street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We only spent one night Sept. 21, Rosa at the front desk was very helpful even went out of her way to see we had what we needed. The breakfast was all you could ask for ie. eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage, waffles, muffins, cereal, juice, coffee. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The is a nice place to walk the dog. If we are ever in the area again I am sure
we will stay there again.

Room Tip: I would recommend you stay in the front away from the pool the door to the pool bangs everytime some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The La Quinta Inn Suites in Salem Oregon is a very nice Hotel. The rooms are very well maintained excellent beds, clean top to bottom. There was free wi-fi internet available, nice indoor pool and very courteous staff. In the morning a modest breakfast buffet with bacon, eggs, waffles, muffins etc. was prepared and it was just enough. The hotel is right off the freeway and very easy to find. Maybe a little road noise during the day but very little in the evening. They split up the guest nicely as the Hotel was full but I couldn't hear any other guest.

I would certainly recommend this Hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Staying in one of the room on the east side will eliminate any road noise. You could possible hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed here a few times. Never a complaint until my toilet backed up...I called for help and was given a dirty and I mean DIRTY plunger to clean the toilet myself. Kept calling manager to complain, no manager on site..EVER! Called corporate and complained called the manager to complain. Sent emails to complain. Stupid, ignorant owners. Don't waste your money.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Suites Salem

Address: 890 Hawthorne Ave Southeast, I-5 at Exit 253, Salem, OR 97301
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#6 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% Non Smoking Hotel Welcome to the La Quinta Inn & Suites Salem OR. Our friendly hotel is located just off I-5 and minutes from Oregon's capitol building. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, we are sure to have everything you'll need to make your stay in the Salem area a memora...See moreble one. We are 2 miles for Bush House Park, Historic Downtown Salem, the Oregon State Fairgrounds, Willamette University and the Oregon State Capital. Salem AASF - McNary Field, the Salem Armory, the Salem Conference Center and Corban University are around 3 miles from the hotel. Our hotel is conveniently located by many business areas and we have comfortable guest rooms to let you finish up the last few work item. Our complementary Wi-Fi in your room or around the hotel will make it easy to stay in touch with the rest of your team. We have a great Business Center and also have Meeting Space so you can bring your team here to finish up the project. In town to visit the Capital or go downtown? After a day of site seeing or visiting you can relax and unwind in our great guest rooms. You can take a dip in our Indoor Pool or work of the stress in our Fitness Center. Family coming together? We can host them here in our meeting room. After a long day you can relax in your room or grab a bite to eat in one of the nearby restaurants. Get a great night sleep and wake up on the Bright Side in our comfortable guest rooms with all the comforts of home. Relax on our Pillow Top Mattresses while you watch your favorite programs on our 32" Flat Screen HD TV's with Premium Cable Channels. Refrigerators and Microwaves are in all our guest rooms with all the amenities you expect from a La Quinta. Ask for details on our Whirlpool Tub Suites. Start off your day with our complementary Bright Side Breakfast with items like Hot and Cold Cereals, Fresh Fruit, Yogurt, Pastries and Bagels. We also have hot items like Scrambled Eggs, Bacon or Sausage with Biscuits and Gravy. Our almost famous La Quinta Waffles go great with all you can drink Coffee, and assorted Juices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Suites Salem Hotel Salem
Holiday Inn Salem
Salem Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Salem
La Quinta Inn Suites Salem Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Suites Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.