We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   511 SE Stephens St, Roseburg, OR 97470 (Formerly Douglas Value Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Roseburg
John Day, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't stay here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

The room was dirty. Wax puddle on the carpet. Dirty spots on the carpet. Just plain filthy. No cups for water or coffee. Empty kleenex box. A lamp with no available place to plug out in. Bright light outside of room. Drunken neighbors screamed and cussed off and on all night. Noisy street traffic.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    2
    3
    15
See reviews for
5
7
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was a very good stay, clean, and the employs made sure I had everything I needed and that if I needed anything else. Front desk manager was very nice he made sure my stay was good and my money was worth spend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was a really good stay,the manager was very kind he also told me there was a lot of new changes. There was a small free breakfast, but overrall for the place it was really good.
the rooms were clean, and the staff was very kind and called us after 5 mins to check up on us and if everything was okay. I would say this is overral a decent stay and i will surley stay again.

Room Tip: The Rooms in the front of the building at the end was the best and a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have to start by saying this was once a best western and it was nice,i put my boss up here once,but times they are a changing! This place is truthfully crime infested,the manager was arrested today for selling meth! one month ago a drug lab blew up,people have been harmed here and i would not want anyone to stay here that was not a meth user,they rent out rooms for long term.
Google this place and be informed before you book

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Had my room and my sisters room not been already paid for from this hotel we would not have stayed there. We called the hotel to add a room to our reservation to be paid for when we arrived that was fine and the only good thing I can say about this hotel. The room(s) they put my father in was a different story. The first room still was occupied so when he opened the door there was someone in there, the next room the whole back of the door was laying on the table, the third room he stayed in, but we put his bags in there and then left and when he returned approx 5 hours later his bag and open 12 pack of pop was gone. I had to leave where I was at to go back to the hotel only to be called a liar, not just once but several times. I thought maybe housekeeping could have gone in the room and mistakenly took the bags, but the guy at the front desk said oh no after housekeeping go in there NO ONE goes in the room! He only kept saying this. I have worked front desk in a motel before and know the person who rents a room is not the only people who have keys. THERE IS A MASTER KEY TO EVERYROOM!!! I was irate to say the least because my father has medication that he has to take and it was nowhere to be found. After about 45 minutes a lady who was asleep in her car in the lot says to the guy why don 't you go and check the laundry, as if I hadn't mentioned that before, but what do you know there they were and the guy at the front desk told us oh my boss went in there cause he thought they were someone else's bags. Ah hello they should have known that the room was just checked into. If that wasn't enough we didn't feel safe and did not sleep well at all!!! Please do not stay at this hotel. pay the extra and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This motel, was for a one night stay on our way back from Washington. The service was really good. The breakfast in the morning was a bonus, and was really good. The employes were really kind, and helpful. The room was nice, and clean. I really enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the front, for a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Oh, why didn't I check tripadvisor first? (I know better!)

We've stayed there several times (no doubt why I didn't check) and were certainly not prepared for what we encountered. This used to be a pretty nice place and a good value. That was then.

Now, if you're a chain smoker (or someone who dreams of sleeping in a well-used unemptied ashtray) this may be your place. Maybe not.

When we got there this time, the rate wasn't great but seemed ok. We asked for a N/S downstairs on the backside, away from the Hiway 99 traffic and the traintracks. Were told none downstairs (on the back). OK. So upstairs.

Turns out all the first floor rooms back there are occupied by fat slob shirtless lowlifes (monthly occupancy) sitting outside their rooms, that we had to step over or around to get to our stairway.

We got upstairs to our room, prominenently marked NON SMOKING. YUCK!!! You could not possible tell it from the worst smoking room. Grabbed the phone; called the desk; and they reassigned us.

We moved 3 doors down in a row of NON SMOKING roooms. This room was definitely less noxious. That did not make it good. (There were ashtrays on both sides of the bed!)

The bedspread particularly reeked of stench. I deliverd the bedspread (and the ashtrays) to the office.

We know better than to think that any motel will refund our money. (They already knew we were unhappy and were anything but sympathetic.) And we were too cheap to go elsewhere and pay twice for the same night. We were going to be faced with degree-of-stench in whatever "non smoking" room we were offered.

So we opened it up, and for the 14 hours we occupied the room turned on whatever fans were operative.

Even the (clean) towels reeked. How is this possible? Does the cleaning staff smoke in the laundry AND the guest rooms?

Hmmmm, what else...

The rooms (both of them) were filthy. Layers of dirt and dust everywhere. Do not THINK of opening the drawers.

And the air conditioner looked and acted like a train wreck. We couldn't find any setting that didn't quickly turn to frost and then into a solid block of ice that prevented any air flow whatsoever.

This used to be a nice clean comfortable well situated place that's become a toxic waste dump.

It was harldy surprising, as we were leaving, to see another couple cancelling their second and third nights.

Well, that's probably enought for one report. A decent place gone totally to hell. Did I mention? We won't be back. Damn shame.

Room Tip: Go somewhere (anywhere) else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Address: 511 SE Stephens St, Roseburg, OR 97470 (Formerly Douglas Value Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Roseburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Roseburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Inn is located in Roesburg, Oregon, right off the I-5 freeway at exit 124. We have spacious single and double rooms and 4 suites. We have free parking, continental breakfast, spa, and exercise room. We are close to many fine restaurants. We offer a refrigerator and microwave oven, upon request for the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Roseburg
Roseburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.