We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roseburg stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose City Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Roseburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose City Motel
Save
You added Rose City Motel to your Saves list
1142 NE Stephens Rd., Roseburg, OR 97470   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Roseburg
Kenmore, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Roseburg stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed at this place on a road trip from Seattle to Southern California. A prefecto, place to stop for a night. Hanging baskets of flowers outside each room. Nice quiet outdoor reading area in the corner. Friendly staff. My only - small - complaint.... The parking lot is kind of tight and tough to get out of on the way back out the next morning. This place is a great value if you are looking for a peaceful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    19
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
27
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The owner/manager was very helpful and gracious. The garden with picnic tables and barbeque was a great place to have a glass of wine or have a meal. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Amazingly, it was only $60.00 a night, including taxes.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 5 if you like airplanes
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deventer, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

One of our stops was in Roseburg. Not quite the place to look for a hotel downtown.
And to stay in a chain motel somewhere near the Interstate is not an option either.
When you want something very, and I mean very authentic, then Rose City Motel is your place.
I love 'old' pre-interstate highway like the old 99 in Oregon and CA and traveling the 99 at Roseburg we found this hidden oasis. Our room was very cosy and decorated like a nice English cottage. The room was very clean and up to date with every amenity.
Despite the fact that it was 105 degrees we enjoyed the nice garden in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We just stumbled upon this place on our roadtrip. We needed a place for the night before we were headed to Crater Lake. The room was so nice, cosy decorated, clean and with every amenity. The cherry was the little garden, shaded tables where we could read and have a beer.
For this price, it's a coup!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Finding this kind of place is what TripAdvisor is all about for us. We didn't want to pay an arm and a leg, but we wanted something with some character. After a while you get really sick of the sterile chain motel rooms. This place was built in the 60s, but it has the look and feel of a 1950s motor hotel (hence, eventually, the term "motel'). It is delightful. You get a nice little kitchenette, a flat-screen t.v., a living room and a bedroom. They are small, but they don't feel small, perhaps because they are so lovingly decorated. Your hostess, Kathy, is a delight and obviously wants everything to be just right for you. And they welcome dogs. Wow. What a find.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The onsite manager was very friendly and welcoming. Had a comfortable stay here. Stayed in room 4 (a bird theme). It reminded me of staying at Grandma's house. The bed was comfortable. The room was very clean and included a flat screen TV, micowave and small refrigerator.; a desk and free WiFi. Although there are blinds in the room, lots of light comes in at daybreak. They have a great garden area with beautiful plants/flowers. Lots of attention to details here. I usually stay at name brand hotels, but stayed here based upon Tripadvisor reviews. It was a nice change!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We found this place on a recommendation from the folks at Abacela winery. It was a very pleasant surprise. The place was homey and neat as a pin. Our room had a whimsical aviation theme that was really well done. The gardens are a peaceful respite. Within walking distance are a decent Mexican restaurant that we ate at. Across the street is Bob's Deli and quick mart if you need supplies. Hwy 99 is not the prettiest strip, but the room was quiet with no hwy noise bothering us. The beds were comfy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose City Motel

Address: 1142 NE Stephens Rd., Roseburg, OR 97470
Location: United States > Oregon > Roseburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Roseburg
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Rose City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose City Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.