We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice climb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Watson Falls

Watson Falls
milepost 60.5, Hwy 138, Roseburg, OR
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Roseburg
Type: Waterfalls, Nature & Parks
Attraction details
St. Michaels, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice climb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This waterfall can be slightly seen in the distance from the parking area but to see it close up requires a fairly strenuous climb up the path through the woods. The path is easy to follow but is fairly steep. I felt it was worth the climb to see the Falls plus I liked the physical exertion.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tucson
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Wonderful hike and awesome waterfall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Even for youngsters! We use to live at Toketee and always took visitors there as easy access and a do-able hike for even two yr olds!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

It's beautiful along with Clearwater Falls and /Whitehorse /falls in Hwy 138 between Diamond Lake and
Roseburg.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“A short hike, straight up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

There are many beautiful falls off the North Umpqua highway. We stopped at the trail for Watson Falls because we thought it would be a quick hike at only a half-mile. We could hear the falls from the parking lot, so we figured it couldn't be far. We missed the sign telling us about the 370 foot climb. If we hadn't, we could have looked just above the sign and seen the falls, way above us. You don't actually need to take the last series of switchbacks that end at a viewpoint about halfway up the falls. There is a point about two-thirds of the way that actually gives you the best view of the entire falls. At 272 feet, the falls are spectacular even in August. They must be unbelievable in the spring. Overall, as good as Multnomah Falls in the Columbia Gorge, but make sure you're up for a steep and rocky trail.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The drive up highway 38 is one of the most scenic drives in Douglas County. You follow the North Umpqua River which is beautiful drive. If you're hot and want to stop to get wet you can. Just remember this is a cold and beautiful river

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Watson Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watson Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.