We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HillCrest Winery and Distillery

HillCrest Winery and Distillery
240 Vineyard Lane, Roseburg, OR 97471
541.673.3709
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 28 things to do in Roseburg
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oregon's oldest estate winery and European Distillery. Our family invites you to experience our new world wines made using old world traditions. All of our artisan wines are crafted using grapes from dry farmed, old vine, hillside vineyards. This follows into the cellar where we use extended barrel ageing and fermentation of our reds in patented concrete fermentors. Oregon's most natural and traditionally made wines. Starting 2011 we will be introducing our French inspired fruit Eaux de Vies from Cherries, Apricot, Pear and wine grapes. FROMMERS- Best wines in Southern Oregon. Not sold in stores. Mention this ad for complementary tasting. Tasting Daily 11-5 March-Dec To the Genie in the bottle!
Pueblo, Colorado, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We learned so much about grapes and wine while we were there! The tasting room is in a wonderful old building, and the winemaker was so friendly. This place made us feel like we were home with family.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    9
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Favorite winery in the region!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This was the last of the 5 wineries we toured over a 2-day trip and found the wines at HillCrest to be the best of all. This non-nonsense winery speaks for itself. The dry farming and long aging process create very smooth wines from first sip to finish. Diane was very knowledgeable and treated us as if we were guests in her own home. We WILL be back!!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Destination Winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Driving to Portland, we decided to pull off in Roseburg and visit a winery. In reviewing what was in the area, Hillcrest sounded interesting because it is the oldest continually producing winery. We pulled in and what a treat! The winemaker/owner, Dyson, greeted us, shared his wines, wine knowledge and the history of Hillcrest. Loved our stop there. Tasted some of the best Oregon wines and brought some home with us! If you are in the area, do not pass this one up!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Really nice wine and great service . Diane helped us :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Winery in the Umqua Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Actually Hillcrest is my favorite winery period. The winemaker/owner Dyson is the most knowledgeable winemaker I have ever talked to and it is always a pleasure to hear him talk about his experience and his passion for winemaking. He is a down to earth guy just like his wife Susan. The place is low key and relaxed. It you want a fancy/snooty winery this is not your place. If you want the best wine ever this is your place. Hillcrest is more about making great wine than selling you wine. Each wine has a story and a reason for existing. Dyson doesn't make any wine just because he needed in his product line up.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HillCrest Winery and Distillery also viewed

 

Been to HillCrest Winery and Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HillCrest Winery and Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.