We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas County Museum of History & Natural History

Douglas County Museum of History & Natural History
123 Museum Drive, Roseburg, OR
541-957-7007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 attractions in Roseburg
Type: History Museums
Attraction Details
Florence, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Better suited to older children. My 6 yr old seemed to like the hands on portions. My 2 and 5 yr olds were wanting more to touch and feel, which is what I expected.

I liked the scenes, like the wagon camp with the mercantile. I will definitely return as my children get older.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WINSTON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Museum fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I had a good time my first visit. I visited for Halloween. Costumes were great. I got some great pictures.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A must see for all visitors and families!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Douglas County should take great pride in a museum of this caliber. The staff is friendly and helpful. The exhibits are exceptional, along with live exhibits. They offer family and kid outings too. From the History buff to the curious observer - this is a must see!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great stop for info about Douglas County”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The museum is filled with lots of stuffed animals along with some great history information about Douglas County. It was worth the stop.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

when we walked in the front desk was very helpful ,they did not charge my teen admission ( I think they like kids to learn history!) I asked about the research room as I had some local connections even though the research room was not open till afternoon the lady asked me what names I was researching , wrote them down and looked them up later when she saw me again she told me what she found then led me to the research room and let me look at the documents ,then she made copies for me of the items at a very reasonable cost
We really enjoyed the museum displays this is a great museum for children and adults alike we spent about 3 hours
If you like museums and have the time I would recommend a stop here

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Douglas County Museum of History & Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Douglas County Museum of History & Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas County Museum of History & Natural History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Douglas County Museum of History & Natural History to your Saves list