We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riversdale Valley Farm

Riversdale Valley Farm
3880 Garden Valley Road, Roseburg, OR 97471
541 673 6470
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Attractions in Roseburg
Type: Farms, Sights & Landmarks
Attraction details
portland, oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fun place to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

It's a bit off the freeway in Roseburg, but worth the short drive. When I arrived, the place was no one was there but the owner,John, had a phone number posted. He had just stepped out for a moment. I called and he was there in about 5 minutes. I enjoyed looking at the things outside while I waited. John is very nice and he has a good sense of humor.

You will be reminded of the 'American Pickers' show, as mentioned by others. The property is flanked by a vineyard, and the surrounding hills are beautiful. His buildings fit right in and is fun to see from the moment it comes into view.

His prices are low and he has a variety of antiques, collectibles and whatnot. He explained to me that he brings a lot of his 'stuff' from the midwest, and that sets his offerings apart from your average store. Be sure tocheck out his old advertising signs and old soda pop coolers. He also has fun yard art--some of which he and another person make.

I stopped there because of TA reviews. It was a welcome respite from driving I-5. Do visit if you like nostalgia. I wish I could have stayed longer. Make sure to take your camera!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great stop for garage sale junkies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you like hunting for hidden treasures in the form of collectibles, old signs, tables, chairs, tractor parts, mid-century patio chairs, fountain stools, this is the place. Owner, Mr. Baird, a wonderful host, will talk your leg off. A delightful experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Like collectibles? You'll love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were in Roseburg for a weekend of car races. We have been to Roseburg several times and had already done the wine tours, the covered bridges, the historical museum and were searching for something different to see on Saturday morning before the racetrack opened. I saw the TA review of Riversdale Valley Farm and we decided it would be an interesting place to check out.

I had the address, but still missed the sign and had to backtrack. It's a short distance from the highway. When we talked with the owner, John, he suggested that folks call ahead and then he will be sure to be there to greet them.

As others have said, this is just an amazing collection of stuff. In our travels around the country, we have been to many antique and collectibles shops, but this is, by far, the largest one we've seen. The thing that impressed us the most was how well organized it is. Each of the several barns contain specified items and John can give you the history on many of them.

If you are into collectibles, or just enjoy watching the History Channel's American Pickers, this place is a must see!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Two hours well spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a great place to spend a few hours in Roseburg. The owner, John, is friendly and willling to tell you about all the treasures he has in his barns. He brings stuff from Kansas where he also has a farm. Some might call much of his treasures junk, but the history that goes along with each item is fascinating. We got two specials the day we visited (I think it's an everyday specialis) no admission fee, and no fine for not buying anything. John was great and fun to talk to. Call ahead to be sure he's there to show you around.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Who knew?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

What an amazing place! We stopped in on the way home from 4th of July festivities, and I'm so glad we did! There is so much to see, and each piece has a story (its up to you to decide which stories are true!) I could have spent several more hours looking through things and talking with John. I'm glad we live just down the road, because I have a feeling I'll be out there a lot! I definitely recommend stopping in if you are in the area. If you don't see John, just give him a call, you'll be glad you did.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riversdale Valley Farm also viewed

 

Been to Riversdale Valley Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riversdale Valley Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.