We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to spend night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Motel

Save Saved
You added Dunes Motel to your Saves list
Dunes Motel
Dunes Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunes Motel
610 West Madrone Street, Roseburg, OR 97470   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Roseburg
Crescent City, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good place to spend night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

They give you a real room key vs a plastic card. Denny's is on same block; other dining choices within walking distance. Room was big and it was quiet. When I checked in I wasn't sure if I could park my F150 in the covered parking. There is ample other parking also. The lady actually went to door and looked and told me it was fine. Can open the big window for fresh air. It was in 80s so room was a little warm. I turned on wall type a/c which was a bit loud but it didn't take long to cool room; not a big deal for me. Rooms are upstairs and have two secure entries from outside. It looks like an older place and kind of smells like it but for the peace and quiet I overlooked that. Real easy to get off and on Hwy 5.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
3
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Travelling Canuck/Yank
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Room was large. Comfortable bed. Spacious bathroom.Owner was on site, and very accommodating. Not a chain motel. These are all good things.

Hallways and overall building could use a spruce-up.

Good value overnight stay.

Room Tip: We appeared to be the only guests, so can't comment on the soundproofing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Although their brochure does not promise to provide for special requests. I am unable to climb stairs and specificaly requested a ground floor room or an elevator be available. On arrival was told I had to climb stairs and that the desk clerk was not aware of any "special request". I could see my booking form on his desk and clearly see my special request. To be fair to the hotel we where not charged for our room, but did have to find another motel in town

Room Tip: always follow-up with a phone call to confirm special requests.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our family stopped at the Dunes motel on our way back from the end of a long road trip. We had been driving for 10+ hours and our girls were tired. I like to stay at non-chain hotels as they are typically less expensive and you get more personalized service. Yes, sometimes you get a real dump but usually not.

The Dunes is a little different in that all of the rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floors and parking is on the ground level.

The owners checked us in and were incredibly nice and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. They are in need of some updating, especially to the AC unit as it was pretty noisy - but then I have had worse when staying in the chain hotels as well. One thing that made us worry right at first is that they still use actual keys - not the plastic cards.

The night was quiet and uneventful. The next morning we got coffee and a muffin which comprised their "breakfast". The owners were there and we talked to them about our trip, our family, etc.

Overall a great bargain for the $60 or so we paid for the night considering we just wanted to get to bed, get up and hit the road again. Oh - and Denny's is right next door.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

If you are looking for a clean and comfortable hotel room, then you found it here. If you are looking for bells and whistles, keep looking. We booked a double room that adjoined to another double room (2 rooms, 4 beds, 5 guests). The beds were extra comfortable, the air conditioner worked well, the bathroom was large, and the rooms were quiet. We ate at Dennys and they gave us a discount because we stayed at the Dunes. Breakfast in the morning was limited to coffee, juice and a muffin. Two things that I did not like: Parking is underneath so rooms are on the second and third floor (stair climbing, no elevator), and the hallways reek of smoke smell (rooms were okay). Friendly owners too. All n all a good place to stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I was so disappointed in this motel. I asked for a ground floor room for my handicapped Mother. The inquiry was not answered and when we got there we found out that all rooms are on the second floor as parking was underneath. The room had hairs both long and very short all over the bathroom floor. I asked for housekeeping and was given another room instead. This room was slightly better but not by much. The motel staff was very kind.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dunes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Motel

Address: 610 West Madrone Street, Roseburg, OR 97470
Location: United States > Oregon > Roseburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Roseburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dunes Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.