We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Show up to see naked "forest people"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Umpqua Hot Springs

Umpqua Hot Springs
Roseburg, OR
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 6 Attractions in Roseburg
Type: Hot Springs/ Geysers, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated 150 feet over the North Umpqua River and close to Crater Lake National Park.
Winchester, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Show up to see naked "forest people"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

If you enjoy catching old forest hippies hanging out in the hot springs smoking weed and drinking all day because they have no jobs or anything else going on...this is the place for you. If you don't like any of the aforementioned things...skip it and save yourself the hike. There are numerous beautiful waterfalls in this area that don't have naked hippies/druggies hanging out at them.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    1
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Life is what you make it, same with enjoying places you go ~”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

As part of our Oregon roadtrip, we visited the Umpqua Hot Springs. We went early in the morning. When we arrived, there was a Grizzley Adams charactor soaking in the main pool, smoking a ciggie with his dog nearby. We hopped into another pool until Mr. Adams decided he had enough. Unfortunately he left his filter butts behind for someone else (us) to remove.

Aside from this, the place is beautiful, the water comfortable and egress/degress easy enough.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Naked and Afraid in Umqua”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The place smells like weed and alcohol, and is a dump.
People are naked, that probably shouldn't be naked.
Its a out of the way hang out for druggys and hippies freaks who think its still 1967.
The war is over .. avoid unless you wanna catch something.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Naked hippie bird bath”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We hiked like 6 miles to find this all natural hot springs and I was very disappointed. I had my 11 year old with me and EVERYONE was naked. I didn't know as I am new to the area. People were making out and it was really gross. We will not be going back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grants pass, oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great for out of the way romance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We are very outdoorsy and like to do something fun and romantic. We decided we would take a trip to the springs and weren't disappointed. We took 4wd and needed it to get up the roads that were mostly plowed but slushy here and there. There is a parking area at the trailhead with a sign warning visitors about nudity. The trail crosses a creek with a makeshift bridge - we suggest bringing a flash lite because the mountains, trees and clouds made for a shady trek, but the trail itself was well maintained considering the season. The pools were wonderful and we enjoyed sitting under the overhang built over the largest pool while the snow drifted by! Awesome

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umpqua Hot Springs also viewed

 

Been to Umpqua Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umpqua Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.