We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life is what you make it, same with enjoying places you go ~” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Umpqua Hot Springs

Umpqua Hot Springs
Roseburg, OR
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 29 things to do in Roseburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated 150 feet over the North Umpqua River and close to Crater Lake National Park.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Life is what you make it, same with enjoying places you go ~”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

As part of our Oregon roadtrip, we visited the Umpqua Hot Springs. We went early in the morning. When we arrived, there was a Grizzley Adams charactor soaking in the main pool, smoking a ciggie with his dog nearby. We hopped into another pool until Mr. Adams decided he had enough. Unfortunately he left his filter butts behind for someone else (us) to remove.

Aside from this, the place is beautiful, the water comfortable and egress/degress easy enough.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Craig94707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Naked and Afraid in Umqua”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The place smells like weed and alcohol, and is a dump.
People are naked, that probably shouldn't be naked.
Its a out of the way hang out for druggys and hippies freaks who think its still 1967.
The war is over .. avoid unless you wanna catch something.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
28 Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Naked hippie bird bath”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We hiked like 6 miles to find this all natural hot springs and I was very disappointed. I had my 11 year old with me and EVERYONE was naked. I didn't know as I am new to the area. People were making out and it was really gross. We will not be going back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
20 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grants pass, oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great for out of the way romance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We are very outdoorsy and like to do something fun and romantic. We decided we would take a trip to the springs and weren't disappointed. We took 4wd and needed it to get up the roads that were mostly plowed but slushy here and there. There is a parking area at the trailhead with a sign warning visitors about nudity. The trail crosses a creek with a makeshift bridge - we suggest bringing a flash lite because the mountains, trees and clouds made for a shady trek, but the trail itself was well maintained considering the season. The pools were wonderful and we enjoyed sitting under the overhang built over the largest pool while the snow drifted by! Awesome

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank priseilmarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“ICK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Dirty and gross! We were so disappointed to see the condition of this place! Don't waste the gas and try Stewart Hot Springs just north of Shasta City in Calif.

Helpful?
12 Thank LDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umpqua Hot Springs also viewed

 

Been to Umpqua Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing