We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad We Stayed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   978 Northeast Stephens, Roseburg, OR 97470   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Roseburg
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Glad We Stayed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We're currently on a road trip and have been trying to keep costs down by staying at motels. Last night we pulled into the Howard Johnson Express in Roseburg and at first were a little unsure based on the outside of the building. However, they keep the curtains open in the available units so we looked inside and were very pleased.

Check In/Front Desk
-The fellow at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Suggested places to eat.

Room/Comfort
-The room inside mostly looks like any other updated hotel room other than the older, boxy TV. Has a small work desk and a table with two chairs. Bed, as someone else pointed out, is softer but not too soft. I prefer hard beds myself but slept like a rock star last night.

Cleanliness
-The room is extremely clean, zero complaints whatsoever! They even have updated blankets...none of those 80's style, multi-colored ones!

Shower/Hot Water
-Also very clean and plenty of hot water and solid water pressure.

Internet
-The Internet isn't bad but isn't super fast either. We're able to watch a few things on YouTube but only after letting them buffer a bit at first. Works absolutely fine for VOiP calls.

Noise
-We can definitely hear cars on the street outside and people coming and going. Heard nothing of our neighbors from the side walls, only through the front door/window. Not terrible but not quiet either.

Surrounding Area
-Within 2 minutes in a car you can find everything from fast food to nice restaurants, grocery stores, pharmacies and everything else. Definitely feels safe here.

Parking
-Not a ton of parking that I can see unless there is more behind the building. What is visible is all directly in front of the building and visible from any unit.

Overall
-We'd definitely come back and especially at this price! Clean, comfortable, safe and inexpensive. Really, what else does one want?

Room Tip: They all look the same to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    51
    20
    10
    0
See reviews for
37
52
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 1 night and was overall pleased. We were not pleased with the bed. We are seniors with back problems and the bed did not help my wife sleep very well. On a good note the Management was very kind and helpful. The room was very clean and had the admitities that we needed.

Room Tip: Great price for a comfortable and quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Room recently re-fitted and was very clean, the bed was comfortable with good sheets
Shower worked well, good towels.
Easy access to free Wi-Fi which worked well.
Breakfast was slim but OK.
There was some road noise, but it is on one of the main roads through town.
Staff very helpful
Motel laundry, clean and inexspensive.
Good value for money

Room Tip: Stayed on top floor to avoid guest walking noise from rooms above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

we stayed here on our roadtrip to SFO. The 1 queen bed room was clean and had a little table with 2 chairs where we could have dinner/coffee. Had a microwave and a fridge. The bed was a little too bouncy for my taste. The room was quiet, and was sufficient as a night's crash pad. The AC made a good white noise too.
Breakfast was standard, although I was disappointed to see no waffles as mentioned by other reviewers. Maybe they changed the menu? Breakfast consisted of toast, muffins, cereal and fruits. No fat free milk.
The front desk guy, Monty was hilarious and kept us entertained.
There is a gas station nearby, and the freeway is easily accessible too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementcomment, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello Mr and Mrs Quiet Clean & Comfortable. Thank you for taking a moment to share with us a review of your experience at our lodging establishment. It is always appreciated. You are correct, we have changed our menu slightly. It's done from time to time. So, sorry about the waffles. And since you were here, we have done it again. We added hard boiled eggs and yummy cinnamon-raisin bread to the menu. AND THERE'S NOW A TV (Monty requested it). So get back here and say "Hi" to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg

Address: 978 Northeast Stephens, Roseburg, OR 97470
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Roseburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Roseburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Roseburg
Roseburg Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.