We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   978 Northeast Stephens, Roseburg, OR 97470   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Roseburg
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Oregon
1 review
“Good Quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 1 night and was overall pleased. We were not pleased with the bed. We are seniors with back problems and the bed did not help my wife sleep very well. On a good note the Management was very kind and helpful. The room was very clean and had the admitities that we needed.

Room Tip: Great price for a comfortable and quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    71
    26
    15
    0
See reviews for
51
65
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Room recently re-fitted and was very clean, the bed was comfortable with good sheets
Shower worked well, good towels.
Easy access to free Wi-Fi which worked well.
Breakfast was slim but OK.
There was some road noise, but it is on one of the main roads through town.
Staff very helpful
Motel laundry, clean and inexspensive.
Good value for money

Room Tip: Stayed on top floor to avoid guest walking noise from rooms above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

we stayed here on our roadtrip to SFO. The 1 queen bed room was clean and had a little table with 2 chairs where we could have dinner/coffee. Had a microwave and a fridge. The bed was a little too bouncy for my taste. The room was quiet, and was sufficient as a night's crash pad. The AC made a good white noise too.
Breakfast was standard, although I was disappointed to see no waffles as mentioned by other reviewers. Maybe they changed the menu? Breakfast consisted of toast, muffins, cereal and fruits. No fat free milk.
The front desk guy, Monty was hilarious and kept us entertained.
There is a gas station nearby, and the freeway is easily accessible too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementcomment, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello Mr and Mrs Quiet Clean & Comfortable. Thank you for taking a moment to share with us a review of your experience at our lodging establishment. It is always appreciated. You are correct, we have changed our menu slightly. It's done from time to time. So, sorry about the waffles. And since you were here, we have done it again. We added hard boiled eggs and yummy cinnamon-raisin bread to the menu. AND THERE'S NOW A TV (Monty requested it). So get back here and say "Hi" to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umpqua, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The overall hotel & parking lot were clean as well as the rooms! The staff was nice and there to meet your needs. Yes, I didn't have to call on her but she offered her services if needed. Well lit room, bed comfortable (not too soft-yuck), good water pressure, toiletries, towels, & coffee in the room. I did miss drinking from glassware but you can't have everything! Breakfast was waffles, cereal, juices, coffee, assorted breads, & apples for your choosing. There were plates and glassware too! I would surely recommend it and would go again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementcomment, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear customer,
We would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at our Howard Johnson Roseburg property. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we will share with our team members. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Office Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here while in Roseburg- and overall I thought it was a nice room for being a 2 star hotel, I would probably say more like 3 star. the room was comfortable, the AC/Heater worked (unlike the place I stayed in Stockton,CA) there is a safe in the unit, and a microwave (our microwave was in the bathroom lol)and a little fridge. They do have a Continental Breakfast with a waffle maker, that was good. And the bed was nice and comfortable to sleep in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementcomment, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear customer,
We would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at our Howard Johnson Roseburg property. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we will share with our team members. we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Office Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseburg
0.9 mi away
Windmill Inn of Roseburg
Windmill Inn of Roseburg
#1 of 15 in Roseburg
4.5 of 5 stars 906 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden Villa Inn
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Roseburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 15 in Roseburg
3.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#10 of 15 in Roseburg
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
7.3 mi away
Wildlife Inn
Wildlife Inn
#1 of 2 in Winston
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg

Address: 978 Northeast Stephens, Roseburg, OR 97470
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Roseburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Roseburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Roseburg
Roseburg Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.