We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   978 Northeast Stephens, Roseburg, OR 97470   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Roseburg
Roseburg, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Room recently re-fitted and was very clean, the bed was comfortable with good sheets
Shower worked well, good towels.
Easy access to free Wi-Fi which worked well.
Breakfast was slim but OK.
There was some road noise, but it is on one of the main roads through town.
Staff very helpful
Motel laundry, clean and inexspensive.
Good value for money

Room Tip: Stayed on top floor to avoid guest walking noise from rooms above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    57
    21
    11
    0
See reviews for
42
54
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

we stayed here on our roadtrip to SFO. The 1 queen bed room was clean and had a little table with 2 chairs where we could have dinner/coffee. Had a microwave and a fridge. The bed was a little too bouncy for my taste. The room was quiet, and was sufficient as a night's crash pad. The AC made a good white noise too.
Breakfast was standard, although I was disappointed to see no waffles as mentioned by other reviewers. Maybe they changed the menu? Breakfast consisted of toast, muffins, cereal and fruits. No fat free milk.
The front desk guy, Monty was hilarious and kept us entertained.
There is a gas station nearby, and the freeway is easily accessible too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementcomment, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello Mr and Mrs Quiet Clean & Comfortable. Thank you for taking a moment to share with us a review of your experience at our lodging establishment. It is always appreciated. You are correct, we have changed our menu slightly. It's done from time to time. So, sorry about the waffles. And since you were here, we have done it again. We added hard boiled eggs and yummy cinnamon-raisin bread to the menu. AND THERE'S NOW A TV (Monty requested it). So get back here and say "Hi" to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umpqua, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The overall hotel & parking lot were clean as well as the rooms! The staff was nice and there to meet your needs. Yes, I didn't have to call on her but she offered her services if needed. Well lit room, bed comfortable (not too soft-yuck), good water pressure, toiletries, towels, & coffee in the room. I did miss drinking from glassware but you can't have everything! Breakfast was waffles, cereal, juices, coffee, assorted breads, & apples for your choosing. There were plates and glassware too! I would surely recommend it and would go again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementcomment, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear customer,
We would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at our Howard Johnson Roseburg property. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we will share with our team members. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Office Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here while in Roseburg- and overall I thought it was a nice room for being a 2 star hotel, I would probably say more like 3 star. the room was comfortable, the AC/Heater worked (unlike the place I stayed in Stockton,CA) there is a safe in the unit, and a microwave (our microwave was in the bathroom lol)and a little fridge. They do have a Continental Breakfast with a waffle maker, that was good. And the bed was nice and comfortable to sleep in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementcomment, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear customer,
We would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at our Howard Johnson Roseburg property. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we will share with our team members. we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Office Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I booked over the phone, in a town I was unfamilar with. Hotel was clean and bed was comfortable, but not best location. Old property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementcomment, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear customer,

Please accept our sincere apologies for our failure to meet your expectations and not providing a positive experience during your stay. We are taking corrective action to ensure that a situation such as this will not repeat itself. We hope you have a wonderful day and again we apologize.

Sincerely,
Office Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This inexpensive hotel was such a pleasant surprise. Our room was clean, it was well lit, and had plenty of towels for us. The breakfast area in the office was small but very clean. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementcomment, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear customer,
We would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at our Howard Johnson Roseburg property. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we will share with our team members. we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Office Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg

Address: 978 Northeast Stephens, Roseburg, OR 97470
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Roseburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Roseburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Wyndham, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Roseburg
Roseburg Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn- Roseburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.