We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Bed Ever!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Roseburg

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Roseburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Roseburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   375 Harvard Boulevard, Roseburg, OR 97470   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Roseburg
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst Bed Ever!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The first room I was given had such a strong tobacco odor. The second room, 314, was clean and the bed had new linens. When I got into bed I discovered a huge crater on one side of the king bed. It was so deep, as if someone had jumped up and down in the same location continuously for a month, and should have been reported by the housekeeping staff and previous guests. When I went to check out, I asked to speak with the manager and was told she was not yet in. I explained what I wanted to speak with her about and the front desk clerk stated I could call her later or wait for her arrival in about 20 minutes. The clerk then stated "do you want me to give you a discount on you room", however I booked the room through priceline. The room was not cheap and I feel that the clerk should have offered to have the manager contact me, rather than me contact her. I have stayed here before 5 years ago, but would not stay here again. I can see from other reviews that the beds have been an issue before.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roseburg, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear 434Janicexxx434,

We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us focus on the areas that need improvement. Our aim is to provide all of our guests a unique stay and great customer service. I am extremely sorry for the issues that you experienced with our beds and staff service during your recent stay with us. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for alerting us and bringing these unsatisfactory circumstances to our attention.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    84
    36
    13
    6
See reviews for
54
59
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Have to say, a nice place, well located. Each room has a nice balcony overlooking the river/hills behind the property. Front desk staff were super friendly; assisted with an early check-in. Breakfast was standard - however, I'm now addicted to the fresh-baked cinnamon rolls at HI Express. Clean room, comfortable bed, easy highway access.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABERDEEN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great breakfast, staff were friendly and room was quiet. Had a view of the river with nice small patio. Location was easy and this was a last minute reservation and I was happy to find the front desk staff helpful and would book this motel again.

Room Tip: Book one that faces the river, nice cool breeze in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stopped here for one night to break up a 1000 mile drive and were pleasantly surprised! The rooms all overlook the Umpqua River and have balconies to enjoy the view. We saw an osprey flying down river just as the sun set. The room was spotlessly clean and wonderfully comfortable. I'll stay here anytime I'm passing through Roseburg.

Room Tip: The better river views are above the first floor and its a good idea to ask for a room away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Thought that it was more like motel. Access was outside so not as safe and it was priced the same as other hotels that are much nicer. This was priced the same as Fairfield and other Marriott hotels and I was expecting that. Beds were old and needed to be changed out and while rooms were some what redone it was still the same motel feel. Don't let the pictures of entry fool you, rooms are sub-par.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roseburg, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Lynnmin,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is an unusual Holiday Inn Express. Most of the rooms are accessed from outside walkways. There is an elevator for the four floors in the middle of the two large wings, but lines for it get long in the morning when everyone is trying to get their luggage down and housekeeping is also running laundry up and down in it. Each room gets a nice balcony with a killer river view, but it turns out smokers love to enjoy their cigarettes and cigars on the balconies, never mind that it's a no-smoking hotel. You'll have to enjoy their smoke too, because the doors to the balconies don't seal completely, so the smoke seeps into other rooms. Our room itself was comfortable and clean. Though there are pillows marked firm and soft on each bed, all but one of our's turned out to be soft, despite the labels, and even the firm one was pretty soft too.

There is a tiny pool usually filled with more kids than water. They also love the small hot tub and ignore any signs about proper ages, etc. You access the hot tub and lawn along the river through the indoor pool area, but cannonballing kids make it nearly impossible to get through, not dry anyway. The front desk people, 20 feet away, do nothing to try to control the situation. The staff is friendly, however.

Breakfast is typical Holiday Inn Express, which I think is great. I'm addicted to their cinnamon rolls. Again, other guests dampened the experience by rudely pushing and shoving to get whatever they wanted. Honestly, we didn't encounter guests this bad during our recent 4,000 mile trip across the Southwest. Maybe it was just our bad luck to end up with so many rude, noisy, smoking guests with out-of-control kids. For the privilege we paid a princely sum for Roseburg, two or three times as much as any other hotel in the town. It may be the nicest hotel in town, but I think we'll just avoid staying in Roseburg again.

Room Tip: For quiet and the best view, ask for a corner room on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roseburg, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear William L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

I sincerely apologize for the troubles you had during your stay. Although we cannot account for the actions of our other guests, we can work to smooth uncomfortable situations to make all guests feel comfortable and welcomed. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience and dissatisfaction you have encountered.

We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests & this is crucial for us to address any issues that may come up. Despite your disappointment I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trafalgar, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a really nice hotel in which all rooms have balconies facing the river and hotel garden. We also had a microwave and fridge which are important to us.
We stayed here for 2 nights and the room was clean and comfortable and we were able to sleep with the balcony door open – we love fresh air!
The breakfast room was very crowded and they had run out of Cinnamon Rolls the first morning, but we took our brekky upstairs and enjoyed it on our balcony!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Roseburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Roseburg

Address: 375 Harvard Boulevard, Roseburg, OR 97470
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Roseburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Roseburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Roseburg 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Roseburg, Oregon. Our Roseburg hotel is strategically located on the bank of the South Umpqua River. Each of our 100 tastefully decorated guest rooms and suites feature a private balcony or patio offering a spectacular view of the South Umpqua River. The hotel located off I-5 exit 124 offers you easy access to the North Umpqua Highway, downtown Roseburg, wildlife watching, golfing and wine tasting. A few great attractions that are within a short traveling distance are: The Wildlife Safari, Crater Lake National Park, Myrtle Creek Golf Course, and scenic white-water rafting. We are located near the Roseburg VA Medical Center, Mercy Hospital and Roseburg Forest Products. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel features: Express Start Breakfast Bar, Simply Smart Guest Bath amenities, Smart Roast in-room coffee, free high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local and 800 calls. Additional features of the Holiday Inn Express Roseburg Hotel are an indoor swimming pool, outdoor spa, fitness center, business center, guest laundry and valet service, mini-fridge, microwave, hairdryer, iron/board, and coffee maker. Visit Roseburg, OR and Stay Smart and the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Roseburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Roseburg Hotel Roseburg
Roseburg Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Roseburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Roseburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.