We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great Amenities, Great View, Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tradewinds Motel to your Saves list
Tradewinds Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   523 N. Pacific St, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Value, Great Amenities, Great View, Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Came here alone to relax a bit in April. Got the 2nd floor oceanside room with the kitchenette, fireplace and great balcony. Being April, I was expecting unpredictable weather and was a bit worried that the room may be cold. But between the fantastic presto-logs (I got a 2nd one per night's stay) and the very adequate heater, I was toasty warm through a rain/hail/wind storm. I brought my own food from Tillamook and the local store to prepare in the very nicely equipped kitchen and extra bonus points for providing a tea kettle as opposed to the usual hotel response to tea drinkers: just boil the water through the coffeemaker... you don't mind coffee-ized tea, do you? Decor a tad tatty but I'd take some unglued wallpaper over paying more money at some hotel chain any day. Beach is right there and easy to access, 'downtown' is an easy 15-minute beach walk way, the hotel staff are accommodating and I loved the shower and hot water. The internet connection is great, too. Like it so much, I'm staying another two nights. Suggestion, though: if you're coming during storm season, you may want to bring some ear plugs. Horizontal rain against the windows can be noticeable but the fireplace dampers dancing around in the wind can be a bit irksome. Snagged some earplugs off some nice construction guys in town and now I'm ready for anything!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    21
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
48
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

We checked into our room and the first thing I noticed was the musty smell in the room, I said well maybe its because were right next to the ocean. The veiw was great so we over looked the smell. The next morning we went sightseeing, left before 11:30 am got back about 2:30 walked into our room and nothing had been done, no housekeeping , I call the front desk and ask why nothing was done, she told me that if we didn't leave before 12:00 you would not get any serivce. I told her that we gone before 11:30, she told me sorry but there was nothing she could do. she did bring clean towels. We will not stay there again. We love Rockaway Beach we'll stay some place else.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland,oregon
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

My wife and I spent a weekend at the Tradewinds Motel near the end of August and really enjoyed it. Rockaway is on a comparitively quiet part of the north Oregon coast and has a lovely expanse of beach. The room had a nice, comfortable king bed, a kitchenette,table, chairs,a small balcony, with a couple of chairs and a perfect view of the ocean.
When we weren't exploring Rockaway and other parts of the north coast, we sat on the balcony or walked along the beach; I love the roar of the ocean so it was perfect. Needless to say, the fact there was no A/C wasn''t a problem as, although the weather was perfect, it wasn't hot enough to require it.
As a travel agent, I have booked with Neil many times and it was nice to finally meet him and stay there. If you're looking for an alternative oceanfront motel, this is it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington/ Moorea
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

The queen size mattress was so lumpy that everytime you rolled over you almost rolled out on to the floor. The shower value took a mechanical degree to figure out how to turn the water off and on.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

It poured the entire two days we were at Rockaway Beach but we still enjoyed it. The fireplace was a wonderful treat on the damp chilly evenings and the view from the balcony of breakers and wind blown sand was amazing. The decor is a bit tatty but everything worked and it was clean. Large rooms with kitchen areas with the possibility of opening up two connecting rooms.
Staff were helpful and friendly.

Just a suggestion...take food with you. The store is very limited.

  • Liked — View and fireplace
  • Disliked — Needs some new wallpaper and some pictures on the walls
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

Came to this website before planning trip & it was worth it. We stayed over Memorial weekend & still only paid $139. Off season, it's probably one of the best deals around. Front of hotel was under construction but we were in back on 2nd floor. You open your back sliding door & the ocean is literally right there! Has great fireplace and kitchen area and a very generous sized room. Not the Ritz (rooms could use some updating) but still worth every penny. Owner was very nice and accomodating.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — can't cook seafood in your room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

We got to Tradewinds and were greeted warmly by the staff. On first entrance to the room, we were thrilled. Absolutely what we wanted but were surprised with more. We knew the room would have an ocean view, and it did. An 8' by 10' wide sliding door with the waves crashing on the beach just below our balcony (ask for the second floor!). What we didn't know was that we would have a fireplace and small kitchen area in the room (perfect for storing the pizza from Upper Crust just across the street.) This is the PERFECT place for a relaxing and beautiful getaway or vacation. Definitely spring for the ocean view. This is a much better value than others in the area and up north in Seaside.

  • Liked — The view from the room
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tradewinds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Motel

Address: 523 N. Pacific St, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Rockaway Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tradewinds Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Tradewinds Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Hotel Rockaway Beach
Tradewinds Motel Rockaway Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.