We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Rockaway Beach ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Rogue Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockaway Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Rogue Inn
Save
You added Ocean Rogue Inn to your Saves list
19130 Alder Avenue, Rockaway Beach, OR   |  
Hotel amenities
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“When in Rockaway Beach ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We planned a short notice trip to Rockaway Beach for the annual kite festival. After some research I settled for this inn. Here my comments for unit 3:

PROs:
- location (close to town & on the beach)
- great backyard (playground, volleyball net, dunes and ... beach)
- rates (very reasonable)
- super friendly owners

CONs:
- A little old the overall appearance
- Blinders not enough to keep rooms dark (we all woke up before 6am !!)
- Mattresses not recommended if you have a delicate back

Would recommend it as a backup plan.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

What a great place! Everything was perfect. Nice little town, right on the beach, moderately spaced between bigger towns but still has needed amenities, secluded and out of the way, rooms were great and fully furnished. We're definitely staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Ocean Rogue Inn - we stayed in unit 2. It is not fancy as this is not a hotel. It's a typical old coastal motel/inn. Unit #2 has a picture window with a view of the rocks, gas fireplace, king bed, fully stocked kitchen. We found this place to be cleaner and friendlier than other places we've stayed on the coast. The owner was very welcoming and even gave us a quick tour of the unit. There are games and movies available at the office which is open from 8am - 8pm. There is housekeeping so you can have fresh towels and coffee each day. There was even a treat and dog blanket for our dog. And we got the "dogs stay free" special, which was a nice surprise. Otherwise I think it's $10/night for dogs.

This was our first overnight mini-vacation with our 4.5month old baby. The living space was small and we had to rearrange the dining table in order to fit our playpen in the living room - the bedroom is large but there wasn't enough room for the play pen in there. We recommend bringing your own food to cook since the kitchen has everything you need. Also the "back yard" is protected from the wind so you can walk your dog without blowing away even if the weather is bad. There is also a play area for children. The bed is large but not very comfortable. I wouldn't recommend this bed for people with back problems. The bathroom is small and bright, there is only a shower, no tub.

Unit #2 is perfect for a couple with or without a dog. Overall it was a little nicer than I expected. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Literally, the best place you can go to; AMAZING rates, friendly service, they even called and returned our change when we went to leave.

And Comfortable! It's like you are at home the whole time!!

Dog Friendly! ($10.00 per night)

Room Tip: Get a Room facing the Water, it's a 2 minute walk to the Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Ocean Rogue Inn this summer. We did not want to leave! The place isn't fancy, but it is nice, cozy and comfy. You could hear the ocean from your room and it was SO quiet. We loved everything about the Ocean Rogue Inn!! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed on the bottom floor, in Unit 1. I'm only 5', so I couldn't see the ocean, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

It was ok. stayed in unit 8. View of the ocean from the tiny balcony was ok. Couch and chairs ok. Nice having a full kitchen. Nice natural light in unit. BUT THE BED, old hard uncomfortable!!! Needs to be replaced!!!! In renting a motel room on the coast the bed is the most important thing after the beach view and access.
Cathy the owner/manager was a sweet and most pleasant person. But I was a little shocked when she told me she doesn't walk the little bit to the beach to look at or enjoy the ocean. She just "works at the coast, she not on vacation." Too bad for her. A little more love of the ocean, a sense of fun and relaxation, and a better bed would make this place better than just ok.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is our second time back to Ocean Rogue Inn. Brought the grandkids this time and they had a blast playing in the backyard, and on the beach. Owners very friendly and helpful. Our Unit#1 very clean, beds very comfortable, full kitchen great overall. Would have given it 5 stars, but living room furniture is in desperate need of a bonfire. Furniture needs to be replaced, had to tell the kids several times not to pull the stuffing out of the arm chairs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Rogue Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Rogue Inn

Address: 19130 Alder Avenue, Rockaway Beach, OR
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Rockaway Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rockaway Beach
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Ocean Rogue Hotel Rockaway Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Rogue Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.