We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Surfside Resort to your Saves list
Surfside Resort
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   101 NW 11th Ave, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136 (Formerly Surfside Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

It's ok, ocean view hard to beat. But very dated rooms. Flat screen TV is good thank you. Room attendant did not vacuumed floors on our three dat stay. And coffee maker was dangerous to use, wrong carafe, so it just filled up the brewer and not the pot.

Room Tip: Don't expect a fantastic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    179
    48
    18
    19
See reviews for
162
136
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This place is friendly, clean affordable for the family with a beautiful view of the ocean and hours of beach fun!
They are also pet friendly. Located a short distance from cute shops and restaurants.
I would recommend to family and friends. *****

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We found the new owner to be very nice and willing to work out a few problems that were encountered. We have been staying at this place for 20+ years and really enjoy the quiet beach and town to our liking. Two great days of weather and two great days of storm watching. Always fun to go browse the antique & thrift shops. Also, hit a few of our favorite places to eat.

Room Tip: Why would I give away the rooms that we really enjoy when they might be booked when we might want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This place is great and affordable for an ocean front room. Staff is so friendly and the rooms are cozy and comfortable with free wifi. The upgrades to interior are nice. My only tip would be to book room on upper level or make sure people are not above you since it's kind of noisy when people walk and the flush toilet at night time. This place is at the end of town, so there's not much around but walking the beach into town is great and takes about 10-15 minutes. You should check out the online coupons for 25% off your stay during winter rates and 20% off your stay during spring rates. We'll definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We were 2 couples recently staying in a family suite. It was clean,comfortable and quiet. The location right on the beach was perfect. This is not a new motel so if you are looking for posh this is not the place to stay. We liked that it is quaint and provided what we needed at an appropriate price with a way to get a good nights sleep, have a hot shower and cook breakfast. The staff is pleasant and efficient. We will be looking to Surfside Resort for future coast accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I like the room and the view. But one thang I didnt lije we couldn't use some of the burners. some of the burners on the stove didn't work and the smoke detector was chirping. sometimes.other than that it was ok.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenmay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We booked a King kitchenette with partial ocean view. What a spacious room! It was like staying in an apartment. The room was clean and didn't have that chemical cleaning smells like many accommodations. And though we didn't have a full view of the ocean, we had a lovely balcony and was still able to see the sunset. The beach is just a few steps away and the town of Rockaway Beach is small quiet town with great pizza at Upper Crust and fun breakfast at Grumpy's Cafe. We were there for a wedding and has a discount but the regular prices seemed quite reasonable to me considering the size of our room.I would recommend the Surfside and will be returning when I want a great trip to the coast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surfside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Resort

Address: 101 NW 11th Ave, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136 (Formerly Surfside Motel)
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Rockaway Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a beautiful oceanfront view, heated pool, gas fireplace, and balcony as well as a a variety of accommodations to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Surfside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Rockaway Beach
Surfside Motel Rockaway Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.