We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly's Brighton Marina

Kelly's Brighton Marina
29200 Hwy 101 N, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136
503-368-5745
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Marinas
Attraction Details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing time here. The kids loved kelly. All the convenience with out the hassle of a big resort

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BEST PLACE EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This place was so wonderful! Kelly is also quite a hoot! Although he is very sarcastic so you have to be able to have a come back. We rented a boat and didn't catch anything but we did buy crab after and it was so yummy! We also got to see some sea lions with was a lot of fun! I definitely reccommend to go!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun family outing for novice crabbers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We spent a fun-filled afternoon crabbing from the dock at Kelly's Marina. The kids (ages 9 and 14) had a great time pulling the rings every 20 minutes for crabs, checking to see whether they had caught males or females and measuring for legal size. We caught plenty, although none were legal size. Don't worry, though, if you don't catch any legal-sized Dungeness crabs, you can purchase some right at the marina. They cook the crabs marina-side and they are delicious!

Wear old clothes and bring a sweatshirt/windbreaker and some sunblock because you will be there for awhile. We packed a cooler with fruit, crackers and drinks but the kids spent most of the time buying treats from the little store at the marina. (They also sell adult beverages.)
Other things to know before the trip: Call ahead to find out the best time tide-wise to crab, as your odds of catching crabs depends on the tide. Also, each "crabber" needs a shell fishing license, so if you have one be sure to bring it with you. (Otherwise, they will sell you a day pass.) They sell bait, too, but we brought some raw chicken to use in addition. (Just watch the chicken -- the seagulls took off with a few unattended chicken legs.)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great experience and great crab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We had good fortune in meeting Dr. John and hear his interesting stories. Great time playing with Noodle the Ferocious Predator of the Wild. Everyone was friendly and we liked hangout out by the fire.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love To Hang Out Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We always stopped by here to have a beer or 2 when in the area. You can watch the crabbers, chat w/locals & tourist while warming your bones by 1 of the many fire pits. Kelly & his wife, Janice, are super nice people. So is their entire staff; it's amazing how hard they work. Last Sunday, a nice young man who works there, was walking around w/a tray of complimentry fresh oysters on the half shell... soo delish! We just watched them unload the harvest; can't get much fresher than that. We shared 3 crabs w/our friends & they were amazing. Very reasonable prices for super fresh seafood. Never crabbed there but it would be easy because they have it all set up for you. We just save time & buy them!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly's Brighton Marina also viewed

Rockaway Beach, Oregon Coast
Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Kelly's Brighton Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelly's Brighton Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kelly's Brighton Marina to your Saves list