We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hostel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Haven's Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockaway Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Haven's Guest House
Save
You added Sea Haven's Guest House to your Saves list
530 Hwy 101 North, PO Box 896, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136   |  
Hotel amenities
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Awesome hostel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

I have stayed at many hostels, so I know when there is a good when...and this is definitely a great one! Lovely furnishings, excellent kitchen, yummy coffee in the morning, and overall terrific deal! Would recommend without hesitation. Thanks again!

Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Had a great stay! Slept in room #2. The bed was really comfortable and I slept really well. This was a surprise since I don't really sleep that well away from home. The common area was very clean and comfortable. The atmosphere was excellent. There is a computer in the common room for guests to use. This was my first time staying at a hostel and was pleasantly surprised. I highly recommend this hostel and I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

I live in Portland and travel to the coast often. I am so thrilled to find this place. Maureen was warm, kind and made sure I was comfortable. Staying at the Sea Haven was like staying with family, the kind of family you like. The entire hostel was clean and fully stocked with anything you might want or need. The kitchens are a dream, nicer than my kitchen at home! They are FULLY stocked with anything you might need to cook a full meal or make a quick snack before heading back to the beach. One of the many ways Maureen and Jeff go the extra mile for their guests is to provide 'shared' food items and an endless supply of hot coffee (good coffee). Maureen set the coffee pot, so when I woke up the coffee was made! The shared food items included bread, eggs, milk, pasteries, pretzels, peanut butter, jelly and some things Im sure Im forgetting. This is stellar hospitality in a warm atmosphere, at a great pice! I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Beach, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

I was looking for hostels while traveling the 101 in Oregon and stumbled across this place in rockaway beach. Its just across the road from the big beach, and there are private rooms at the hostel price (35), with tvs and towels and double beds. The common area is beautiful, with lots of amenities and free stuff, very clean, very new, practically luxury for the hostel price. They just opened this year, so I wanted to spread the word to people checking out this gorgeous coast.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Me and my girlfriend stayed for one night at this awesome hostel. We felt homelike and the owner was friendly as. It's fully equipped with all you can think about. There is even a dvd in your privat room... They support everything you can think about for breakfast and there are chips as well for the evening. An unforgetable stay. Thumbs up!

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

This place is a lot nicer than I was expecting. I've stayed in a lot of hostels, and this was one of the first times I've been impressed with the accommodations. We got a private room (I never saw the bunk room, so I can't say much about it) for $48 after tax. The room itself was nothing special, but the common area is very nice. Everything was brand new and nice looking, impeccably clean, and there were two fully equipped cooking areas, a big flat screen tv and comfy couches. The owner brings eggs, pastries, milk, bread, and coffee for you in the morning! We walked down to the market and bought some cheese and made a wonderful breakfast in the morning. it felt more like staying in a relative's house than a hostel.

The location is decent, but nothing special. The beach is not in view, but is only a 3-4 minute walk away. I'm giving it 5 stars for the accommodations and the eggs, bread, and milk in the morning. For a sub-$50 private room in a hostel, this was about as good as it gets.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

On our trip down the coast from Vancouver to Los Angeles we tested a lot of accomodations - and this was the best (for a hostel). Price was fair (64$ for a 3-bed-room), very clean, the interior in the common room was amazing (2 kitchens, lot of food, big flatscreen TV, DVD's, computer...) and the owners are terribly nice. They prepared breakfast and even send my jacket (I forgot at the hostel) to my address in Germany as a sevice!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Haven's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Haven's Guest House

Address: 530 Hwy 101 North, PO Box 896, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Rockaway Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rockaway Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Haven's Guest House provides accommodations similar to a bed & breakfast, just without the breakfast! The entire Home can be rented for private events, such as a bicycle touring group, motorcycle rally or family reunion (eleven beds, sleeps 17). When not rented as a vacation home, last minute travelers can rent a private bedroom in the home and share the common space (kitchen, dining/living room and bathrooms). Check on availability through Sea Haven Motel. Private Bedroom availability is limited to 5 days out from your travel date. PRIVATE BEDROOMS: The first floor has 5 bedrooms, each with their own TV/DVD player and a queen bed (sleeps 2). One of those bedrooms also has a twin loft bed (sleeps 3). All of the downstairs bedrooms have a closet, two drawer night stand, alarm clock, lamp and either a built in or portable desk area with chair. The second floor houses a long dormitory style bedroom that has four twin beds (2 sets of bunks) and a full size futon plus a sofa (sleeps 6). This room also has its own TV/DVD player in the small sitting area. COMMON SPACE: The living room has a long sectional sofa, which is a perfect place to gather or watch a movie on the 42” flat screen TV. Counting the TVs in the bedrooms, there are a total of seven TVs with DVD players on site. Select some movies from our collection or bring your own. There is desk with a computer and printer with Wi-Fi access. There is a small reading room off the living room with a loveseat with plenty of books to borrow and different board games to play. Guests share one and a half bathrooms, with attractively tiled floors and walls. The main bathroom has an oversized fiberglass shower with a built in seat and grab bars. Outside, you can cook some meals on the stainless steel gas bar-b-que, or roast hot dogs and marshmallows over the fire pit (firewood is provided). There is a large 12x14 deck, as well as an additional 18x6, both with built in seating. There is a wooden picnic table and patio chairs, plus a folding picnic table can be brought out if needed. There is plenty of parking for vehicles and boat trailers. Water and garden hose are easily accessible for boat clean out. A crab cooker is available for use at the adjacent Sea Haven Motel. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Haven's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.