We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent stopover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fir Grove Motel

Fir Grove Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fir Grove Motel to your Saves list
Fir Grove Motel
2178 Winchester Ave/US Hwy 101, Reedsport, OR 97467   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Reedsport
Alameda, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A decent stopover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Staff was very friendly, allowed us to check in fairly late in the evening on short notice. Rates were extremely low which, for a quick night in/out, was appreciated. Room was very small and the bed was one the more uncomfortable ones (and plastic cover under sheets..hmm.) in recent memory but again, very inexpensive. TV worked well and there were a surprisingly high amount of channels for a small motel. One warning is that the town literally shuts down at 10:00 pm so food options are limited to McDonald's at that point. If we would ever need to stay in Reedsport again, we would be back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
7
4
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Selma, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed in Reedsport on business, for one night. Needed lots of info on the town, and the owner was very informative and friendly. Typical motel room, very clean. Room had refer, complementary shampoo and soaps and even had little candies. Extra pillow in room. No smoking in any room. Walking distance to good restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

I came through Reedsport on a bike tour of the Oregon coast. I stopped at a couple of other hotels on my way here and as a comparison I decided this was the best value. The room was dated, but very clean and all the rooms are non-smoking, which is nice. The owner seemed very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The rooms at this place are ok, but the owner is very inflexible and will not accommodate special requests such as a few extra minutes at checkout time (a much too early 11 am). Why stay here with Mr. Tough Guy when a place like Best Western down the street will gladly give you can extra hour?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Reedsport was not our destination, but we had been driving all day. Time to stop. With a dog in the early evening, it's dicey to find a place to stay. Fir Grove fit the bill as a sweet little mom-and-pop. Furnishings are dated, but the room was neat as a pin and very clean. You can tell the owners take pride. Extremely reasonable price. We slept well and left grateful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

I found this place by punching in "Hotels" and "Along My Route" on my GPS. This is not a new hotel or a brand name hotel but I was still impressed by the cleanliness. It's a small place with basic amenities but it's obvious the owners care about their motel. I felt very safe here. The owners gave me some good advice about the local restaurants (two are across the street) and directions to a very nice, new laundromat a few blocks away (beside a McDonald's). There was some road noise due to the proximity of this property to the main road (US HWY 101). But it was also easy to walk to several restaurants and a few shops in the town as there were sidewalks and crosswalks at the traffic lights.

Room Tip: If you are military, let the owner know. He might have a military rate for you to save you a few bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fir Grove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fir Grove Motel

Address: 2178 Winchester Ave/US Hwy 101, Reedsport, OR 97467
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Reedsport
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Reedsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fir Grove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fir Grove Motel Reedsport, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fir Grove Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.