We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand view steep climb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smith Rock State Park

Smith Rock State Park
Highway 97, 9 mi. north, Redmond, OR
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Redmond
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Rock climbing
Attraction details
Fossil
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Grand view steep climb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Services are available in Terrebonne where you turn East on NE Smith Rock Way for a couple of miles. The parking is free and is easy to find. Enjoy the view of Smith Rock and the Crooked River. It is a healthy hike down to the river where a bridge is provided so you can cross to the Rocks. There are hiking trails and its fun to watch people that know what they are doing climb the rocks. Bring a spotting scope or other ways to view them.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    36
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Spectacular cliffs.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Would appeal more to rock climbers but a nice drive north of Redmond.Scenic area when you get there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“WOW! What can I say?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This place is so pretty it gives me chills! Stopped by on my way north - didn't know what to expect - saw it from a distance - wanted to spend the whole day there. It is just beautiful!!! I just wanted to take the dog & go for a long hike but I had a cat in the car, too. It was about 9am when I was there - the sun was shining on the rocks & they were just shimmering! After each picture I took I found a better one!! There is something here for everyone. Rock climbing, hiking. It is just plain pretty!! I will be back!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Shh! Don't tell - keep this place a secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Smith Rock has something for everyone who can walk! It's great to hike through the park and take in the spectacular views of distant mountains, sky, Smith Rock State Park itself, the rock climbers, the rivers. It's a place I could go back to time and time again and discover something new every time! You can't help but feel ALIVE at Smith Rock!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunriver, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always a place to visit on a rainy day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The rain gives a special shine to the rock and sometimes the climberss are still out. Some of the native people were caught here trying to flee the warm Springs reservation but were caught and taken back They didn't belong with the warm Springs tribe so hadn't wanted to stay there but in their own country. Sort of a sad part of our history.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith Rock State Park also viewed

 
Redmond, Central Oregon
Redmond, Central Oregon
 

Been to Smith Rock State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smith Rock State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.