We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious digs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House to your Saves list
Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   391 Mill Creek Drive, PO Box 50, Prospect, OR 97536   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Prospect B&B and Inns
Klamath Falls
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gracious digs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Here's the deal. Prospect Hotel is not where you stay if you are looking for the - - - fill in the blanks here - - - perhaps Four Seasons, Westin, etc - - - all of which we like - - - experience. Prospect Hotel is where you stay when you are seeking an 1800's road hotel lovingly restored and on the Registry. The 60" bigscreen will not grace your room. Handmade quilts will. Don't plan on a subwoofer in your room. But there is an 1800's pump organ in the second floor parlor. And the folks who run the place are gracious to a fault. The motel out back is more in tune with the 20th Century, but if you don't figure out how to get some of the signature French Toast for breakfast, do without the TV, and stay in the main building. But maybe bring some WD-40, 'cause the beds squeak.
There are three waterfalls within walking distance, the Natural Bridge is a short drive, and Crater Lake is not to be missed, no matter what part of the globe you hail from. We live nearby, but the getaway is very well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    71
    27
    15
    7
See reviews for
42
109
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Klamath Falls
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

Although the rooms were a little small, they were gracious and inviting, with beautiful hand made quilts on the beds. The rooms were clean, bed was a little hard, but not too bad. The friendliness of Fred and Karen was outstanding, along with their whole staff. Dinner and wine presentation a joyful occasion. I was really impressed with the fact that Fred had ALL of his staff come out after dinner and personally thanked everyone of them for their service. This was unique and an outstanding thing to do. The staff told Fred and Karen to sit down and enjoy the main course and dessert with the guests. This I feel shows the esteem they hold for the two owners . A very special weekend enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate SC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

My husband and I stayed in one of the motel rooms for two nights after driving from Eugene and touring Crater Lake. The room itself was basic, but nice. The area is beautiful . I loved looking through the extensive book with the history of the Prospect Hotel. The bed in our room (#3), though, was terrible--the mattress was extremely hard. I don't have back problems, but my back hurt for days after my stay here. Thinking back, we should have just cut our losses and moved to another motel but there are very few in the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoOregonGuide, Manager at Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House, responded to this review, October 27, 2009
Trying to provide the perfect bed for every traveler is very difficult. Some prefer soft, others medium and some want very firm. This brings to mind Goldilocks and the Three Bears. “This one is too hard; this one is too soft, this one is just right!”
Most of our guests prefer a mattress that is on the firmer side. The only solution to accommodating the entire spectrum of mattress requirements is to provide one of those adjustable ‘number’ beds where you can set your desired firmness. However those are prohibitively expensive, and require some time to get “your number” correct.
The other night we had guests stay with us that laughingly said our bed “was like sleeping on concrete”. We asked them what they have at home. “A thick memory foam mattress and a feather comforter on top of that!” Of course ANYTHING else is going to feel like concrete. Fortunately they understood, and won’t be writing a negative review on Trip Advisor. The very same room where these guests had an issue is specifically requested by many of our regular guests. Unfortunately you can’t please everyone every time.
When a guest requires a softer than normal bed we do our best to accommodate them with additional padding on the mattress. Of course we have to know they prefer softer, to be able to assist them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We really enjoyed the location. The short hike to the falls and Avenue of the Boulders was amazing. The food was quite good as well. The only issues we had were a very loud air conditioning system and thin walls....not too much that could be done on that. But for the price I'd expect a little more.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

Prospect Hotel and Restaurant

. First, I do agree with a lot of the Trip Advisor reviewers that the property is what is it is, a historical registered place. With that being said, it is a very nice well-run place that has a lot to offer some folks and they may enjoy their stay here.
First the restaurant, which bills itself as a “fine” dining place. We had made reservations for a certain time and had to reschedule them due to some change in travel plans, which the restaurant easily accommodated. When we arrived, the front desk lady was extremely helpful, and if anything, offered more knowledge about the place than was necessary. We only had to wait a few minutes for a table (the restaurant was not full?) and we requested a table near the corner of the room, which we were told, was reserved. We were seated next to that table and waited for our server. After several minutes, actually longer than expected based on the number of people in the restaurant, the waitress came over to us and without introducing herself or offering any explanation about the dinner specials, abruptly asked, “what do you want to drink”? We could hear the other waitress telling some people at their table the dinner specials, which our waitress never did. My friend asked for a glass of wine and I asked for an ice tea. (By the way, that was the only glass of ice tea I got during the dinner with no offers for refills). The waitress also gave my friend the wrong type of wine but did deduct it from the bill. The dinner was as expected based on the comments from some of the Trip Advisor reviewers. It was not a five star restaurant and it wasn’t a one either but one of the things that could help this restaurant would be to instruct or teach the wait staff the proper way to introduce themselves to the dinner guests. By the way, the table that we were told in the beginning was reserved, well it appears that it wasn’t reserved after all and some person just walked in and was seated there.
Now on to the sleeping accommodations, which I will first warn anyone with any kind of back problems, do not stay in the motel units behind the main house, especially unit #5 which has the WORST bed I have ever slept on. If you didn’t have back problems before, you will after you sleep on this bed. There is a difference between firm and solid and this bed was a solid piece of concrete. Her and I actually considered going and sleeping on the car’s leather seats, which would have been way more comfortable. We ended up putting the top blanket and cover blanket under the top sheet to give us some kind of cushion. As reviewed by others, the rooms are small but clean and if the bed has been somewhat comfortable, it would have been a pleasant experience.
In the morning, when I went to turn in the room key, the front desk lady asked me how I slept and I informed her not so good because of the bed. I actually explained to her what I did to make the bed more comfortable and apparently she didn’t hear a word I said, because she said, “well, I hope you had a good night’s sleep?????? If you are looking to stay somewhere near Crater Lake, I would take the advice of one reviewer and drive the extra distance to Roseburg or White City. I am still paying for the bad night’s sleep with back pains a week later.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

The Prospect Hotel is positioned perfectly to catch people coming back from Crater Lake, it is a quaint and, as the name suggests, a rather old building where few luxuries can be crammed in as it wasn't built for modern demands. The room we stayed in was small and the decor really very dated but the staff and location do really do make up for the less than perfect decoration. They are really very helpful and keen for us to make the most of our time in the area. I would definitely recommend this hotel but guests must be prepared to stay in a hotel that is over a hundred years old.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

We got a 2 room suite for $120! Rooms were ok, a couple of insects, but they didn't bother us:) Friendly staff, great location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House

Address: 391 Mill Creek Drive, PO Box 50, Prospect, OR 97536
Location: United States > Oregon > Prospect
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Prospect
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crater Lake National Park's closest full-service town is showcased by the nationally registered Prospect Historic Hotel-Motel and Dinner House. The Historic Hotel is a ten-room Bed and Breakfast Inn with private baths and beautiful quilts on every bed. Hearty, full, breakfasts greet you in the morning. Take a short stroll to the Rogue River and three water falls. Situated for Hiking, Biking, Rafting, Fishing, Boating, Birding, Hunting, Cross Country Skiing or Snowshoeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.