We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prospect
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House
Save
You added Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   391 Mill Creek Drive, PO Box 50, Prospect, OR 97536   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Prospect B&B and Inns
Kelkheim (Taunus), Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Hello folks, I stayed only one night at the Prospect Hotel - last november. I was very happy with one of the cheaper motel rooms in the back. Everything was clean and I felt very safe and secure. I had dinner in the impressive looking restaurant in the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the prime rib I had was just awesome. After dinner I enjoyed a nice chat with the owners.
Overall I was very happy with that place. Well its not exactly cheap but it was the only available accomodation close to the Crater Lake back then - so it was a no brainer. I would definately come here again!.


Thomas Roemhild

from
Erfurt, Germany

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    71
    27
    15
    8
See reviews for
42
112
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
617 reviews 617 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 194 cities Reviews in 194 cities
356 helpful votes 356 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great hosts and staff from greeting to some very helpful touring tips around the area. Close enough as stopping point for visit to Crater Lake (approx. 30 minutes by car). Hotel rooms, which we chose (Frances Pearson room) involve stairs, the all ground floor motel units (in which our friends stayed) is a good alternative if carrying bags up stairs is a problem. Hotel rooms are nicely decorated but very limited clothes hanging space in our room. Not all hotel rooms have their own ensuite (ours did), so choose carefully. We had a lovely sleep with no disturbance in this very peaceful rural environment. Evening meal in the hotel restaurant was most enjoyable and a lovely setting. Has full bar service which includes choice of local beer and wine with solid menu choice. If staying in the hotel, your tariff includes breakfast, it is extra if staying in the motel. Breakfast was very filling with mix of hot and cold served to your table in dining room. Glad we had the opportunity to enjoy this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder Creek, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were traveling with friends who wanted a nice place to stay outside Crater Lake, having stayed at the Prospect Hotel on previous trips, I recommended it. We decided to stay in the motel section so we did not have to carry our gear into and up the stairs in the historic hotel section. The motel rooms were spacious, clean and quiet. One of the best reasons to stay here is the dinner house, wonderful food and good wine list, the grounds are also beautiful with large flowering plants and trees with lots of shade. Small town but has everything you need for a nice relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

All of the staff we encountered were exceptionally helpful and friendly. the room was spotless, but the beds were rather hard by American motel standards.
The evening meal was very good, but very pricey and not very big portions.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquille, Oregon
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay on the way home from Crater Lake and found this in our guide book. We stayed in one of the motel rooms in the back of the property, which was clean and comfortable with TV. We ate dinner at their restaurant and were the only diners but the food was good, nicely presented and served in a leisurely manner. We looked at some of the rooms in the inn which were decorated in a charming period style but are tiny as are the bathrooms, as well as being more expensive -- we were glad to be in the motel part. The grounds are nice, especially the large wrap around porch with wicker furniture.

Room Tip: Although the inn rooms are nicely decorated, they are very small and beds are smaller too. Unless y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice hotel convenient to crater lake. Comfortable efficiency units with mini fridge. Dinner in restaurant was pretty good although the service was slow. The staff is super friendly and made a lot of good suggestions for things to go in the area. Don't miss the waterfalls along hwy 138

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Oregon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We did an overnight at the prospect historic hotel. Rooms are small and charming, appointed with handmade quilts and soft linen. Very clean, and quiet. We were the only guests this night, so I can't speak to noise transmission. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. Gracious service. We had breakfast and were treated like royalty.

Room Tip: We were in the Pearson rm and it was a larger room than most with southern exposure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House

Address: 391 Mill Creek Drive, PO Box 50, Prospect, OR 97536
Location: United States > Oregon > Prospect
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Prospect
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crater Lake National Park's closest full-service town is showcased by the nationally registered Prospect Historic Hotel-Motel and Dinner House. The Historic Hotel is a ten-room Bed and Breakfast Inn with private baths and beautiful quilts on every bed. Hearty, full, breakfasts greet you in the morning. Take a short stroll to the Rogue River and three water falls. Situated for Hiking, Biking, Rafting, Fishing, Boating, Birding, Hunting, Cross Country Skiing or Snowshoeing. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.