We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Portland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Westin Portland to your Saves list
Westin Portland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Southwest Alder Street, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #26 of 132 Hotels in Portland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location & bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great White Russians from the bar (and classic mac & cheese which is always delicious, steak was excellent as well), and the staff is all very friendly. The rooms have a great set-up and if you can get a high floor you can get a pretty nice view of Portland, although being downtown lends your view to other buildings primarily, it is still nice to see the city at great heights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    274
    67
    26
    17
See reviews for
81
229
47
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for business several times this year and have always had a great experience. The staff is always friendly and professional and it's centrally located downtown close to some great bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor particularly a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This hotel was in an excellent location, the bar menu at happy hour was great and reasonable and the shower was a dream!!!!

From the first moment of our arrival we felt welcome. We were traveling with a new car and were concerned with where it would be parked. There was a valet named Justin who not only made us feel welcome from the moment we set foot on the curb, but took very good care to assure us our car would be well taken car of, (which it was)!

Justin made great first impression, and when we stepped out to walk around he gave us very good suggestions on where to go and explore. He is a great ambassador for Westin. Based on this experience we will be staying at Westin properties more in the future!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oahu
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

great overnight stay.
hotel is right in the middle of downtown, next to shopping, food, and seemed to be a lot of clubs and such.
I got in late, so the place was packed with cars and people j-walking.
checkin was smooth, issue that they didn't code correctly either of my keys and had to go back to the desk to fix.
Parking is 37$ to valet, with self parking a block down for 26$.
check the metered parking, for certain times you don't have to pay. I got in about 10pm until 1pm the next day and didn't have to pay a thing.
room was incredible, spacious with a tub and shower.
only other thing I can think of is that the elevators, there are only 2. but like 15-20 floors with about 20-25 rooms per floor...so you do the math on waiting for the elevator.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

1. The front desk lady who checked me in was very friendly and very respectful even though my appearance was shabby. Kudos to her.
2. The room was very clean and comfortable. I stayed for two days.
3. Great location.
4. I probably stayed at hundred different hotels in the last 10 years and this ranks near the top.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I hold SPG Gold status and used my points to stay at the Westin Portland for the weekend of my 50th birthday. This weekend reminded me why I am loyal to the SPG brand.

We checked in very late, around 12:30 am. The night front desk agent, Steven was beyond friendly and helpful, making our check-in easy. We received an upgrade to a suite on the Penthouse Floor with an amazing view. During our stay, we were comp'd a bottle of champagne and a bottle of Pinot Noir in honor of my milestone birthday.

The room and the hotel facility were outstanding. We have stayed at many Westins around the world and this was the best we've experienced. It is a smaller 19 story building. The view from the top was great. Our room had 2 huge windows over looking the city, a sitting area, a plush kind bed and a large bathroom with a tub and separate shower. The decor was typical Westin along with the signature Westin scent and toiletries.

Getting to the hotel is easy from the airport using the Tri-met MAX Red line. It is about a block from the Pioneer Square stop. Portland is such a great walking city and we found almost everything to be walking distance from the hotel.

We originally wanted to use our points to stay at The Nines. I am so glad it was not available because I cannot imagine having a better experience than we had at the Westin!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is perfectly located: across the street from 40+ food trucks, short walk to river, steps from the pearl district. We were thrilled. Service was excellent. Clean, nice decor, relaxing lounge for drinks. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Portland

Address: 750 Southwest Alder Street, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Portland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#20 Business Hotel in Portland
#23 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#33 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Portland 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Portland Hotel is located In the center of Downtown Portland with easy access to some of the city's best dining, shopping, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;