We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Portland

Save Saved
You added Westin Portland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Portland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Southwest Alder Street, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 133 hotels in Portland
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great location - lots in walking distance
Huge bathroom - loved the separate tub and shower and shelves in the bathroom for all our stuff
Comfy chairs in the room

The lack of free wi-fi is absolutely ridiculous. I stayed at four very different hotels during my time in Oregon and this was by far the most expensive and swankiest and the only one without free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    267
    64
    26
    16
See reviews for
81
219
47
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Recently remodeled to be more "modern". Still solid downtown Portland hotel, close to business and financial offices and easy walk to Pearl.

Pros:
- Location
- Awesome two block wide food truck pod literally out the front door
- Easy walk to downtown business & shops and Pearl District
- Great staff and awesome valets

Cons:
-Rooms are oddly laid out - glass enclosed shower (no tubs) kind of in middle of bathroom that has floor to ceiling windows. The toilet is next to the windows.
- No plug-ins available next to the bed so you have to plug electronics in on the desk, across the room
- Rooms are small - the bed takes up the entire space w/ a small desk & chair

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel once we found it was in a great location. We were on the 16th floor and had a wonderful bed that was heavenly. Too bad we didn't get any sleep! We could hear everything in the room next to us - and they were not shouting, they were talking normal and it was like they were in the room with us. Of course they went out partying and then came back at 3 am and we heard them for another hour. The next night they had checked out and a new group was in the room next to us - and we heard them as well. Fortunately they went to bed around midnight. This is unacceptable for a hotel of this caliber. Everything else was wonderful but I do not think we could stay here again simply because we got no sleep and it definitely ruined a bit of our vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Portland_GM, General Manager at Westin Portland, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I am sorry to hear that your experience was not more renewing, and that the noise from your neighboring room was so disruptive. I would encourage you to contact the property directly, as I would like to learn more about your stay. Our goal is to provide rejuvenation from a good night’s rest in The Heavenly Bed, and it sounds like we missed that mark. I am happy to see that you took advantage of our great location and all that Portland has to offer. Thank you for taking a moment to share your insights on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
/las /vegas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Perfect location and great beds and bathrooms. Rooms are very small but that is typical in Portland. Got this hotel on Priceline so price was reasonable at $125 but not sure I would pay $229 which was the rate I found on the Westin site.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a one nights stay at the Westin Portland. We had a great room with huge windows, lots of light and great staff. The Westin never disappoints. This hotel is conveniently situated and within walking distance of lots of great restaurants.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A very nicely appointed well located spot. Comfortable room, friendly staff, and doormen who hand out umbrellas to their guests as they go out to see the sights. Located just blocks from the metro rail station and a world of food trucks that are permanently arranged in a square block. We walked all over town and never felt too far from home. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Westin, in downtown Portland, far exceeded my expectations.

Location : It's location is perfect with everything within walking distance- from the waterfront to the city center square. Within a few blocks is shopping and dining. There is a lovely food trucks area one block from the hotel with about 15 food trucks permanently parked.

Service: Excellent. We start with handing our car to the valet who is more than happy to provide any directions, suggestions etc. Good service.
The front desk staff is equally pleasant with quick check in and check out.

Food: We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel. Very good. We did in room dining and the service was quick (30 mins). Food was good. Prices are comparable to any good restaurant.

Cons: The housekeeping was running behind schedule. So our room did not get cleaned when we left for the day and came back in the evening. I requested SPG points for turning down housecleaning service for that day (there was no point in getting it cleaned at 7 pm), and that was added to my account. So no complaints there.

Room Tip: Spend on a corner room. The views are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Portland

Address: 750 Southwest Alder Street, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Portland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#16 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#20 Business Hotel in Portland
#31 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Portland 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Portland Hotel is located In the center of Downtown Portland with easy access to some of the city's best dining, shopping, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Westin Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.