We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, good bed, but small room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Portland

Save Saved
You added Westin Portland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westin Portland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Southwest Alder Street, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 132 hotels in Portland
Phoenix
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Location, good bed, but small room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A block away from Nordstroms, right downtown. This is a great location to explore Portland. We had a corner room- which are mildly larger, but still you had to leave the room to change your mind. The bed is comfortable. They have ample places to plug in electronics. Unlike their sister Starwood- the 9's, this seems to be for the modern traveller, but I would not recommend a single room if you have a kid - we have a 2 year old. Thankfully we don't spend much time in the room. Service was good, and the valet parking is a must. If you want a room for a couple and a good location- with a great bed and need your electronics- get a deal here. Otherwise, if you have a kid the rooms are just too small.

Room Tip: Get a corner room if you can- they are still small - if they have larger rooms (were not available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    260
    63
    25
    14
See reviews for
76
212
47
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had stayed at this hotel numerous times a number of years ago, and just went back recently. We really appreciate how the place is run. First, if you arrive by car, the valet service really works well, and if you book directly with the hotel, they had a special which includes the valet parking fee).

The hotel has a small 'footprint' and is very well laid out, with central elevator shafts and rooms that you get to through short hallways. The halls outside your door place are very quiet as a result. We got a corner room (one of the options when booking online) on the 18th floor, which had a fine view (even another fine view from the bathroom, it so happens).

Being on Alder Street, a smaller a one-way street, there is very little street noise compared to the major streets nearby. The building is very well built with good sound insulation in addition. And yet you are right downtown, surrounded by Powell's, Jake's, and a short walk to Pioneer Square, etc. Perfect. If you come by car, put it away and enjoy the city on foot and rail.

Great bed, excellent shower (with both a direct shower-head plus a rain-making ceiling-mounted head, and you can get both going for that matter).

This place is understated and unpretentious and very well run and maintained. The thermostat was not working, so I called and within literally three or so minutes a repairman showed up and fixed it. Courteous and efficient.

We felt very comfortable and rested, and with a checkout at 12, we were able to enjoy the morning using the room as a 'base'.

This is a very fine hotel. We recommend it unreservedly. Oh, and regarding reservations, go directly to their website.... they will likely have some deals that you would not get through the standard sites.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are especially nice, especially the top few floors (they have 19, I believe).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for two nights in late October and had a great experience. We got a AAA package that included valet parking, which was very convenient. The location is accessible and close to many things. The room was not huge, but very comfortable, with a very modern bath and comfortable bed. We were toward the back and it was very quiet. The only issue was a thermostat that I don't believe was working properly. They said they would send someone up to check it, but I don't think that happened. The bar area is cozy, with great original art on the walls and nice sofas for sitting with a drink in the evening or coffee in the morning. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Wow...overall an A+ experience. After staying at the Westin in Denver, I decided to try my luck again on a recent trip to Portland. Location? Can't be beat. A beautiful building right in the middle of everything and adjacent to one of the largest pods of the renowned Portland food carts. An easy walk to just about all in the downtown area or take the trolley, free in a large part of the city, to get close to where you want to go. We had a lovely corner room on the 7th floor. Bed comfy, bathroom jazzy, well appointed, reasonable rates. Staff faboo, eager to answer questions. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earth
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed four nights at the Westin because I was in town for a meeting. Had stayed at the Kimpton Monaco and the Heathman before, and both were very nice hotels. And at similar price level (or even somewhat cheaper) compared to the Westin.
I am Platinum with Starwood, and they are running a promotion so okay, I thought I'd give the Westin a try. After all, it IS a Westin, so should be quite decent. Right?
Here are things I like about the Westin.

1. The location is good, being close to everything, But that's not any different in any meaningful way relative to other downtown hotels.
2. The walk-in shower is nice.
3. Windows can open.

Things I don't quite like:

1. The walk-in shower is nice, but as a result the bathroom takes up a lot of living space. The bedroom area is therefore rather small. We had a two-bedded room, and other than the two beds and a desk chair, there is no place to sit. At this price range, I can get rooms 50% bigger at either the Monaco or the Heathman.

2. In four days we had gone in and out via the lobby numerous things. One of the front desk people was always very pleasant. The others not so. Stoic would be a polite way to describe them. No, it's not about DYKWIA, just plain old simple customer service with a smile.

3. Same thing with the doormen. Yes, they (by and large) do open the doors etc., but they do not say anything when we say thanks. They do not even bother with eye contact. In fact, they stare right past you. Again, I guess I have a very different idea about service personnel than Westin Portland does.

Other little observations:

1. I really didn't expect an upgrade, since I was staying four nights. But when the front desk person told me I was upgraded to a deluxe room, which was exactly what I booked, it disappointed me. Also, it didn't make me feel all that great when the lady checking in next to me got upgraded. Oh well.

2. The front desk person was obviously not well-trained about Starwood's program. Never asked me what platinum amenity I wanted. Did not offer alternatives to points.

3. The toilet drained slow, and the coffeemaker seemed busted. To their credit, both were fixed right away.


So overall this was not a bad stay by any means. It's just a bit disappointing given the price range and the total absence of any benefit for a platinum guest (not a big deal, as I mentioned, but disappointing nonetheless). There are many nice hotels in downtown Portland. My next visit will most certainly not take me back to the Westin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Greatly enjoyed my stay at the Westin while in town for a job interview. The decor throughout the hotel has a nice updated feel, the bathrooms have an oversize tub separate from the shower which is nice to come back to after a long day. Lots of food and entertainment nearby within walking distance. There is no parking at the hotel, so valet is likely what you'll be using and it takes some time to get your car - make sure you call down in advance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, CT
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very nice rooms. The hotel appears to have been recently renovated. The lobby is small though I do like the seating area and bar/restaurant. Restaurant food and wine was also good. Typical Westin WiFi charges. Small but usable gym.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Portland

Address: 750 Southwest Alder Street, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Portland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#17 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#24 Business Hotel in Portland
#31 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Portland 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Portland Hotel is located In the center of Downtown Portland with easy access to some of the city's best dining, shopping, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Westin Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.