We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Portland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Portland to your Saves list
Westin Portland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Southwest Alder Street, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #28 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great location and comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for two nights in late October and had a great experience. We got a AAA package that included valet parking, which was very convenient. The location is accessible and close to many things. The room was not huge, but very comfortable, with a very modern bath and comfortable bed. We were toward the back and it was very quiet. The only issue was a thermostat that I don't believe was working properly. They said they would send someone up to check it, but I don't think that happened. The bar area is cozy, with great original art on the walls and nice sofas for sitting with a drink in the evening or coffee in the morning. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    321
    78
    31
    19
See reviews for
98
274
53
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Wow...overall an A+ experience. After staying at the Westin in Denver, I decided to try my luck again on a recent trip to Portland. Location? Can't be beat. A beautiful building right in the middle of everything and adjacent to one of the largest pods of the renowned Portland food carts. An easy walk to just about all in the downtown area or take the trolley, free in a large part of the city, to get close to where you want to go. We had a lovely corner room on the 7th floor. Bed comfy, bathroom jazzy, well appointed, reasonable rates. Staff faboo, eager to answer questions. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earth
Level Contributor
325 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed four nights at the Westin because I was in town for a meeting. Had stayed at the Kimpton Monaco and the Heathman before, and both were very nice hotels. And at similar price level (or even somewhat cheaper) compared to the Westin.
I am Platinum with Starwood, and they are running a promotion so okay, I thought I'd give the Westin a try. After all, it IS a Westin, so should be quite decent. Right?
Here are things I like about the Westin.

1. The location is good, being close to everything, But that's not any different in any meaningful way relative to other downtown hotels.
2. The walk-in shower is nice.
3. Windows can open.

Things I don't quite like:

1. The walk-in shower is nice, but as a result the bathroom takes up a lot of living space. The bedroom area is therefore rather small. We had a two-bedded room, and other than the two beds and a desk chair, there is no place to sit. At this price range, I can get rooms 50% bigger at either the Monaco or the Heathman.

2. In four days we had gone in and out via the lobby numerous things. One of the front desk people was always very pleasant. The others not so. Stoic would be a polite way to describe them. No, it's not about DYKWIA, just plain old simple customer service with a smile.

3. Same thing with the doormen. Yes, they (by and large) do open the doors etc., but they do not say anything when we say thanks. They do not even bother with eye contact. In fact, they stare right past you. Again, I guess I have a very different idea about service personnel than Westin Portland does.

Other little observations:

1. I really didn't expect an upgrade, since I was staying four nights. But when the front desk person told me I was upgraded to a deluxe room, which was exactly what I booked, it disappointed me. Also, it didn't make me feel all that great when the lady checking in next to me got upgraded. Oh well.

2. The front desk person was obviously not well-trained about Starwood's program. Never asked me what platinum amenity I wanted. Did not offer alternatives to points.

3. The toilet drained slow, and the coffeemaker seemed busted. To their credit, both were fixed right away.


So overall this was not a bad stay by any means. It's just a bit disappointing given the price range and the total absence of any benefit for a platinum guest (not a big deal, as I mentioned, but disappointing nonetheless). There are many nice hotels in downtown Portland. My next visit will most certainly not take me back to the Westin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Greatly enjoyed my stay at the Westin while in town for a job interview. The decor throughout the hotel has a nice updated feel, the bathrooms have an oversize tub separate from the shower which is nice to come back to after a long day. Lots of food and entertainment nearby within walking distance. There is no parking at the hotel, so valet is likely what you'll be using and it takes some time to get your car - make sure you call down in advance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, CT
Level Contributor
164 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very nice rooms. The hotel appears to have been recently renovated. The lobby is small though I do like the seating area and bar/restaurant. Restaurant food and wine was also good. Typical Westin WiFi charges. Small but usable gym.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Westin, Portland is in an ideal location for exploring the city. It is in the city centre, near shops, restaurants and just a short tram car away from 23rd street if you don't want to walk.

One highlight of the hotel was the lounge bar with an extended open fireplace and access to the internet via individual tablet screens along the bar. The ambiance was warm, inviting and hip.

Special acknowledgement to Cody at the front desk for his local knowledge on excellent coffee and restaurant choices.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Thought this was a great hotel! Loved the bed!! Great location for Portland sightseeing. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant and bar were really good. The bar was especially nice with a great fire place, good drinks, food, and happy hour. The Hot Monkey Bloody Mary's & Hummus were fabulous along with the nice people we met. Cool place to just hang out.
Would definitely stay here again and will recommend the Westin in Portland to friends & family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#3 of 133 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Downtown
Marriott Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 133 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Portland

Address: 750 Southwest Alder Street, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Portland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#20 Business Hotel in Portland
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#40 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Portland 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Portland Hotel is located In the center of Downtown Portland with easy access to some of the city's best dining, shopping, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.