We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Jupiter Hotel to your Saves list
Jupiter Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 E Burnside St, Portland, OR 97214 (Formerly Travel Inn Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 133 Hotels in Portland
hartford, ct
1 review
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

We came into Portland with only a "Let's Go" USA book and we were happy with our stay. We were 2 couples and we had a nice, clean, funky room with 2 queens beds. It was on the small side but that didn't matter. The staff was very helpful and we were in walking distance to lots of shops, restaurants and bars. Overall a very positive experience. Oh ya, and free condoms and chalk to write on your door with....

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    125
    67
    49
    55
See reviews for
25
147
42
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

We can honestly say this was one our worst hotel experiences ever. We travel a lot, domestically and internationally, and always try to sleuth out local, modern and independent establishments. From the hipper than thou, thouroughly unhelpful front desk staff to the teeny, stark, inefficient, paper-thin walled rooms, our Jupiter Hotel stay was one over-priced annoyance from start to finsh. No amount of their hipster nightlife scene or glossy web photos can redeem this rip-off.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowtown, TX
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

we needed a place to stay for 5 days and booked this based on Fodor's review. It has almost no furniture, zero closet (just a rack on the wall) so setting up for a several day stay was impossible. It is also a happening night spot and concert venue we discovered. the night we spent, the band and audience errupted from the hall and loudly played all over the parking lot just outside our room after midnite! we moved to another hotel asap. ps. the capper was that a Jupiter Hotel condom was on the nightstand. honest!

  • Liked — urban location
  • Disliked — noise and crowd of concert hall; funky room, no place for luggage or clothes
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

Rooms are small, stark and cheap. Not cool minimalist, bad IKEA. The bed is a hard, flat platform with the a/c unit looming over your feet. The TV is above that all the way at the ceiling. Nothing on walls, astroturf carpet, sheets smelled of smoke. The outdoor lounge rages on until 2am where the music stays blasting until just before 3am - then the leaf blower starts at 10am to clean it up. I lived above a nightclub in NYC and I could sleep better. Good band crash pad, but no comforts here.

  • Liked — $5 parking
  • Disliked — the accommoation
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pippigirl
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

Pretty lame when the guy at the front desk makes you cry. That's mostly what I remember... poor directions for getting around, $7 for the garage(????), noise, noise, noise! At least they provide ear plugs in the room, and to top it all off no hot water! Both at night when I tried to take a bath and in the morning for a shower.
Having said all that, there were some nice perks, after the guy was so mean and made me cry, he realized what a turd he'd been, he brought me a coupon for free breakfast next door and the very cool bar/club/restaurant Doug Fir, which was also great for drinks at night and a stones throw from the hotel doors. Also the bed was insanely comfortable. Great linens, pillows, blankets, nice decoration for the small room. Good selection of cable channels as well. I guess I would say, they are trying with all they've got. It's fun, just don't go expecting superior service, and for nearly downtown Portland, it's still a good deal.

  • Liked — The fabulous bed
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

Ok this place is really cute and in a perfect location with cool shops, and easy to get around area. The front desk is a hit or a miss. Nice or hungover > who knows? But be warned unless you are ready to party till 2 this place is super noisy. They do give earplugs and condoms in each of the rooms. The best thing this hotel has going for them is Doug Fir. The food was so good we ate there 4 times. breakfast, lunch, dinner. Great music with a nice scene after 6. Portland was laid back, and the people were so nice.

  • Liked — Fun, & easy
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

This is a very GROOVY and somewhat QUIRKY joint. The folks at the desk were completely awesome - polite, super extraordinarily helpful, non-judgemental and, well, pierced and tatoo'ed. Look past the physical in this case, grasshopper. They've got some swell folks there taking care of you.

The bed was comfy; the place was very safe and very nice to walk back to my room after a concert in the Doug Fir Lounge (Portland Cello Project). B'fast in the Doug Fir was good, too.

The hot water was hopeful at best and not really hot enough after a long day at the Oregon Conference Center. But the good news is that you won't scald yourself if you stumble back to your room after a night out and really, if you take cooler showers, your skin won't dry out so much.

I enjoyed my stay there as a relief from the completely ordinary. Let's face it, you can find a discount family inn anywhere. This is not that place. This place is genuinely dedicated to the creative and performing arts - even the TV was tuned to the ARTS channel when I first turned it on after 3 days there.

The doors are painted with blackboard paint on the inside and outside and there is chalk in a cup in the room for you to express yourself. I chose to write my own affirmations on the door and others drew on the doors. I saw some pretty creative stuff there, too.

This place is obviosly directed by folks who are passionate about their art and that's what it takes to make this atmosphere work. Go there and stay and feel like you are part of the totally hip Portland Scene.

If you are a light sleeper, somewhat disturbed by tattoos, piercings or a party scene, then this is not the right place for you and you may find it a bit too much for delicate sensibilities.

Personally, I loved it. I'll catch up on the whole sleep thing some time in the future.

  • Liked — Made me feel hip
  • Disliked — No hot water
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jupiter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter Hotel

Address: 800 E Burnside St, Portland, OR 97214 (Formerly Travel Inn Motel)
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jupiter Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Jupiter Hotel, a mid-century, renovated motor inn-turned-boutique hotel in the heart of Portland, minutes away from Downtown Portland, the Oregon Convention Center, the Pearl District and the Rose Garden Arena. A refreshingly affordable minimalist hotel for creative business nomads and urban explorers, the Jupiter Hotel offers 81 guestrooms, over 4,000 square feet of unique meeting and event space, an airy bamboo courtyard and outdoor fireplace seating for guests. Jupiter Hotel amenities include complimentary wireless internet, locally-roasted Stumptown organic coffee every morning in the lobby, Electra bikes for rent and Natura eco-friendly bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jupiter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiter Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jupiter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.