This review is written by somebody who travels fairly regularly and stays in everything from boutique to luxury hotels.
We checked in to the Jupiter hotel in the afternoon and immediately realized why friends recommended the hotel; the staff was helpful and welcoming.
When we got back to our suite in the evening we checked the room for signs of bed bugs as we always do. We found BED BUG skin shells on the mattress. We immediately called the manager who swiftly walked into the room and wiped the bugs shells away. He said it was unlikely they were bed bugs, in other words we were wrong, without explaining what they were or why they were on the mattress. He even witnessed them on the mattress. He gave us a quick ultimatum to either change rooms or check out without a sincere apology. When I visited the front desk 15 minutes later he had already left without checking what we were going to do. Because it was late we decided to take a look at another room. We were then put in a smaller room with a bed that was almost on the floor, and had hairs on the sheets. When we checked this mattress it was an old blue thin mattress that would have been found as the goodwill, it was gross. We told the front desk we expected to be put in a room as large and as nice as the other, and they moved up to another room after the request. Ultimately, we were so put off from the bed bug shells that we checked out and went to the Hilton (which is cheaper and much more accommodating).
Although the front desk staff were apologetic, the manager was completely dismissing. It was enough to have us leave the hotel. We will need to dry all of our belongings to ensure we don't have bed bugs as well, and needless to say feel like our brief stay was a complete inconvenience.
Further, the hotel charged my card for the room and the deposit, after we had checked out. I left a message with the same manager's voicemail to call me immediately as I was already disappointed with the hotel. He didn't phone me the next morning as the staff said, so I called him again later that morning and still couldn't reach him. Later that afternoon he called me back and had nothing more to say than the charge will be refunded. No apology or anything.
This hotel is a total joke, the front desk staff should have the assistant manager's job. If bed bugs are a priority to avoid in your travels stay away from this hotel.
Book at the Hilton, it was cheaper and nicer
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Jill A,
Report response as inappropriate
We here at the Jupiter Hotel are hotel people, 365 days a year our lives are dedicated to the experiences that we can provide our guests through clean, fun rooms and great service. There is nothing that we haven't seen between all of our collective experience in this industry and one thing we all know is we are not experts. We leave bed bugs and the detection of them to the experts, which is why we have a company that inspects at random every month a sampling of our guest rooms using state of the art equipment including pooches. We pride ourselves on the fact that we have never had any room with an infestation and anytime we have a report from a guest we always have them come out to inspect the room. While myself and our Assistant General Manager are not sure what was on the bed that you found, I am sorry that you felt he was short with you as I can attest to his desire to and success at making our guests feel appreciated, understood and taken care of. His goal was to make sure you were most comfortable with the situation whether that was for you to move to another room or to check out of the hotel, not to give you an ultimatum. It sounds as if you have had problems in the past with other hotels and infestations and I can understand the proclivity to be over cautious when staying somewhere, but I assure you, just like all of our guests; here at the Jupiter Hotel you are in good hands- both those of our staff and management team as well as the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms. The charges placed on your account were returned to you as soon as we realized that you did not stay the night in the other rooms you moved to.
In the end, I am sorry that you did not have the experience that you wanted and I hope that you have luck finding comfort in future travels that you have. We would welcome you back with opens arms should you ever want to stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.