We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel! Would stay again / )” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Save Saved
You added Jupiter Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 10 more sites!
Jupiter Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 E Burnside St, Portland, OR 97214 (Formerly Travel Inn Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 132 hotels in Portland
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel! Would stay again / )”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here on Halloween night to watch a basketball game @ Rose Garden Arena. The location is good, the walk to the arena itself does not take long at all.. less than 10mins! There are many places to eat/shop near the hotel but the downtown side is across the bridge/river (which is still walkable) & takes less than 5mins to drive. The outlets are about 20mins away. We stayed here because it was on the same side as the arena & ended up being quite close.

The staff at the hotel was great.. We were given an upgrade from a Lobu room to Metro room at no charge. There was a 20% off promo on the website & our parking fee ($9- quite cheap for a hotel!) was also waived.. so we got a very, VERY good deal. They even let us check-in early at noon instead of 4pm. Our room was nicely decorated in the yellow bamboo style & we definitely enjoyed the free wiFi. It was clean & only the bathroom showed signs of wear & tear but was still spotless. The chalkboard doors were a fun touch : ) the size of the room was perfect for us, so I'm glad we were offered the bigger room. The bed & sheets were comfy & the seating area was convenient.

The Doug Fir lounge was delicious; went there for Happy Hour & had breakfast the next day. I think this is one of the nicer lounges on that side of the neighbourhood so it was great that it was close by. We were on the "chill" side of the hotel & we couldn't hear the restaurant at all.. Just the people walking past our room (the walls are quite thin so it was pretty loud) but it didn't bother us. If you stay here you should already be aware of the noise =P it was Halloween night so we expected it as well.

I'd definitely stay here again for my next trip to Portland : ) thanks for the great service!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear nm320,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Jupiter for your Halloween/ basketball excursion! I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the service of our hotel and front desk staff as that is the business we are in...Great Service!! We find that as long as guests are sure of what their expectations are of the hotel, their experience will be great! Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback as it is invaluable to us and future guests of ours.

Sincerely,

Zach Miller
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    96
    55
    44
    51
See reviews for
20
124
36
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed at the Jupiter many times and always had a great experience. I have stayed in both sides of the hotel (bar and chill) and they rooms as exactly as specified on their website. So really, this hotel can be whatever you want - lively or loud. The bar side is cheaper but will be loud until the Doug Fir closes and people head home, the chill side is much quieter and you can have a peaceful night sleep. Choose according to your needs, if you're expecting a ritzy hotel this ain't it, but it's modern, clean and friendly.

The staff have always been amazing every time I've visited and it's once thing that will always make me come back. The location is wonderful, although it seems a ways out of the downtown core it's really centrally located. You can walk into the city (with a wonderful view over the bridge) in 10 mins or head over to Portland's east side and check out some of the funky bars and restaurants.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Jupiter to anyone. It's a great place with friendly people. Just choose the chill side if you want a quieter evening.

Room Tip: If you want quiet and an early night of sleeping don't choose the bar side rooms. All the rest a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Mish_Mash_III,

Thank you for your continued business, we really appreciate it and it let's us know we are doing the right things to garner our guests' loyalty. We also very much appreciate your tips to other travelers as too many times people review a business subjectively rather than objectively and your style truly gives future guests the insiders guide to make their own decisions on how to customize their personal experience. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for all the recommendations!!!

Sincerely,

Zach Miller
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Jupiter this past weekend. The hotel is about a mile from the train station and totally walkable, even in the rain. The room was small, but had everything we needed and the bed was very comfy. We enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to return for our next visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear cherylvu,

I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel and our beds! I am also very glad to hear that the Portland "sunshine" didn't get you down! We appreciate your patronage and are very glad to hear that you will be coming back as that is the greatest measure of how successful we are as a hotel! In addition to being very close to the train station we are also close to the Bolt Bus station and the Max/Streetcar line from the airport, in case the next time you visit you want to travel in another manner.

Sincerely,

Zach Miller
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLYMPIA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I started staying at the Jupiter back in 2008 while I was in Portland for business and I've been back many times since.

The rooms, I stayed in a Lobu Queen room, are comfortable and visually engaging, although not entirely quiet. But, people don't seem to typically stay here for R&R. With the Doug Fir a stone's throw away, good food and good live entertainment are a part of the experience you won't want to miss. Check out: http://www.dougfirlounge.com/cal for a list of upcoming events during your stay.

The hotel also offers a bevvy of unique trip packages to turn your stay into something truly memorable. From the "Keep Portland Weird" package, which includes a gift certificate to the World (in)famous Voodoo Doughnut (mmmm bacon maple bars!) to the LexiDog packages for those travelling with their furry best buds, the Jupiter Hotel has something for every one.

As a side note the parking garage can be a little tricky, especially for larger cars. Consider parking on the street.

Room Tip: The Jupiter offers different types of rooms for every personality and budget. Choose one that's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear CTaylor_Oly,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your wonderful feedback! I am glad that you appreciated the Doug Fir and that our package selection and our adaptability to each budget and personality allowed you to enjoy the Jupiter and Portland even more! You are always welcome here and I hope the opportunity presents itself on you next visit to thank you personally for your business!

Sincerely,

Zach Miller
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a great time at the Jupiter. The rooms were very comfortable, and well furnished. We called room service and they showed up five minutes later with a pail of beers for a very reasonable price. The atmosphere around the Doug Fir lounge was exciting, and the fire place gave a neat place to meet and socialize. We didn't have any issue with noise, even though there was a band playing and lots of people attending.

The staff went the extra mile when my friend left an envelope with money in the room (by accident!). We were well on our way home when we got a call from the hotel. The manager courriered the envelope to my friend's work, very promptly! Talk about honesty and service!

Very fun place to stay! Will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear rwilger,

I'm very glad that you enjoyed the property as much as you did. We try very hard to establish the atmosphere here and we certainly try to make available, things to make your stay even better (bucket of chilled beer delivered to your room). I'm glad you got the envelope we sent you, we always make sure and return lost items asap! I hope we see you sooner than later here in Portland!

Sincerely,

Zach Miller
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a wedding. When we got there our reservation for a two bed room was lost & all they had was a one bed room for 4 of us. That was a bummer for sure. Mistakes are made, but the question is, what do they do to fix it. They did everything possible. There was no room to give us then, but they offered to comp our room, get us one at another hotel close by, or after the wedding reception was over at 11pm, clean the room set aside for the wedding reception, & give it to us.
We were pleasently surprised and greatly appreciated their efforts!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Lonnie F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Ultimately, we do not pretend we don't make mistakes and while we do try to make sure they don't happen, they do and we pride ourselves on fixing them as best we can. I am glad to hear that you walked away feeling like we did everything we could have as that is our goal. I can assure you though that your next stay will be free of issues and please don't hesitate to contact me directly for reservations.

Sincerely,

Zach Miller
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

On the positive note, the location is away from the homeless milling about downtown and there are buses and trams that could easily take you to commercial pockets (Stark, Hawthorne, Division, Nob etc) where you will find artsy shops and really good neighborhood cafes and restaurants with homey local feel to them. However, the double room is tiny, there are not enough places to hang clothes and towels, the room cleaning is rather haphazard, the front desk staff are not very friendly, the airconditioning is the biggest source of noise (and the "off" switch does not work), and there are no windows you can open to freshen the air in the room. Still, I think it is ok value for the money, so if there is a lodging crunch in Portland I could maybe see myself considering a return. Would not be a place I would easily recommend to friends, though.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear sonjee,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that you did not completely enjoy your experience and wish that you had brought these issues to my attention during your time with us so that I may have had the chance to rectify issues which certainly could have been fixed. I would, for the sake of future guests love for you to provide your room # so that I can have the A/C unit looked at. Please contact me directly at you earliest convenience if you would like to provide this information.

Sincerely,

Zach Miller - zachjupiterhotel@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jupiter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter Hotel

Also Known As:
Jupiter Hotel Portland
Address: 800 E Burnside St, Portland, OR 97214 (Formerly Travel Inn Motel)
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 132 hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jupiter Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Jupiter Hotel, a mid-century, renovated motor inn-turned-boutique hotel in the heart of Portland, minutes away from Downtown Portland, the Oregon Convention Center, the Pearl District and the Rose Garden Arena. A refreshingly affordable minimalist hotel for creative business nomads and urban explorers, the Jupiter Hotel offers 81 guestrooms, over 4,000 square feet of unique meeting and event space, an airy bamboo courtyard and outdoor fireplace seating for guests. Jupiter Hotel amenities include complimentary wireless internet, locally-roasted Stumptown organic coffee every morning in the lobby, Electra bikes for rent and Natura eco-friendly bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Jupiter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jupiter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.