We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some updating, great location and staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Portland & Executive Tower

Save Saved
You added Hilton Portland & Executive Tower to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Portland & Executive Tower
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   921 SW 6th Ave, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #51 of 132 hotels in Portland
Minato, Japan
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Needs some updating, great location and staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Carpet was worn but the rest of the room was nice and clean. Concierge staff were outstanding, very helpful. The rooms are slighty small, well furnished and otherwise nice. Location is excellent to access all of downtown Portland sights, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy read our concierges were very accommodating and I will share your experience with them. I am excited to announce that we will be renovating this fall and we hope you have the opportunity to see our new look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    470
    218
    72
    36
See reviews for
149
252
54
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Service! Thank you to Domenic at the front desk, I was on business and brought my 75 yr old Mom with, walking distance to great food & shopping. I splurged and upgraded to a top floor 2 bath living room suite, the suite was enough for Mom to sit in the sunny window while reading a book. Buffet breakfast was great and the staff in the restaurant happy! Only stayed for 2 nights but Mom is still talking about the great time she had!

Room Tip: Stay in the towers and for an extra treat spend money and get a suite, life is worth living! You wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travelers. It is great to read that you brought your mother for this visit and she enjoyed her suite. I will also share your comments with Dominic. We hope you choose to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to the Portland area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I spent one night on a Romance Package with the Hilton in downtown Portland. I thought we would be in the main (older) hotel, but they confirmed us into the Executive Tower. Rooms are a little larger there, and newer. The staff was lovely and the weekend was great. Strawberries with chocolate and caramel were a nice surprise in addition to the bottle of sparkling wine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your business and your feedback. It’s wonderful to read that you enjoyed your romantic weekend and your strawberries with sparkling wine. We hope to serve you again during your next getaway to the Portland area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is in a prime location in the downtown area. You can catch the lightrail, city trams, or buses that will take you to every corner of the city within 2 blocks of the front door. We stayed in the tower, which looks to have been renovated in the last 10 years. The bathroom was small but worked given the space. The bed was very comfortable and they give you enough pillow to drown you. The room was as quiet as you'd expect for a hotel downtown. However, there were little things that I expected to be better. The desk chair was old vinyl with many deep cracks in it. That seemed like an easy thing to upgrade. There are mirrors for the closet doors. This also seemed like an easy upgrade that would make the room feel a little more classy. All in all, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your detailed review. I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed our location and tower rooms. I will share your room suggestions with our team to improve our overall guest experience. We value your business and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Hilton hotels at one time were very high end places to stay. Not so much any more. We stayed here and were deeply disappointed. For one it was way over priced for the room we got. The rooms are tiny, the bathroom is very tight. When we made our reservations we stated there were 4 adults. When we arrived we had to call the desk for more towels as there weren't enough for the amount of people staying in this room. When we paid $200 a night, you would think they could get the littlest of things right. No free Wi-Fi. we either had to pay $10 more dollars or sit in the lobby where it was free. Cheaper hotels offer their guest free Wi-Fi. We asked for directions to a certain restaurant and the front desk guy gave us directions through the worst part of town, not safe at all. Small room, old and I could have stayed at the Comfort Inn and got more bang for my buck! Neve again will I stay at a Hilton. I would NOT recommend this Hotel to anyone. Biggest rip off!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of your past stay with us. I always appreciate hearing from our guests – including places of improvement. I apologize that the comfort of your stay was interrupted and I have taken your comments to our team to ensure that in the future we do a better job of providing the best service and necessities to all guests. The next time you have the opportunity to travel to the area I hope that you will be our guest again – thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My first impression was from Brenda, the non-friendly concierge. I was trying to plan activities during my stay and when I called, she said that she would call right back. That translated to never heard from again. When I arrived, my check in was as expected. My room was narrow but well designed to maximize space. There are sliding doors instead of opening doors to the bathroom and the closet. The beds are very comfortable. The elevators are extremely slow and full during a conference. The hottub needs to be scrubbed since there is a scum on the bottom and the sides. You won't notice it if the jets are running. William, at the concierge desk more than made up for Brenda's lack of assistance. The housekeeping staff are very friendly. The front desk staff is extremely helpful to get you any special request items. The location is great for walking everywhere downtown and to the Max light rail. The hotel could use just a bit more attention to detail, such as the printers were both out of paper for printing boarding passes. Overall, a good stay.

Room Tip: Select a higher floor to avoid street noise, such as early garbage collection, delivery truck backup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy to read you had an overall pleasant stay with us and thank you for your feedback. I am sorry for the issues you encountered and wanted to assure you I have addressed your concerns with the appropriate members of our staff. We hope you have an opportunity to visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in downtown Portland. It’s conveniently located within walking distance of a number of food trucks. My room in the Executive Tower was clean, quiet and comfortable. I had taken advantage of the advance upgrade request option and paid an extra $5 for the tower room. The tower is nicer and quieter and has better amenities such as the fitness room being open 24 hours rather than limited hours. The tower also offers a self-park option that’s cheaper than the valet parking at the main building. But if you’re in the main building, you could self-park and take the 90-second walk back. Overall, I was pleased and would stay again.

Room Tip: The executive is a little nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review and we hope you have an opportunity to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Portland & Executive Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Portland & Executive Tower

Address: 921 SW 6th Ave, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Portland
#43 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Portland & Executive Tower 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Portland & Executive Tower hotel in Portland, consists of two separate buildings and combined they offer 782 guest rooms as well as: The Main building, remodeled in 2006 offers:* Complimentary Hilton Athletic Club - offering a large indoor pool, Jacuzzi®, extensive cardiovascular equipment, free weights, sauna and steam room, tanning, personal fitness training and massage services* Bistro 921 Restaurant & Bar - where you can enjoy classic American fare * Full-service business center - staffed Mon-Fri and 24-hour access with room key * Wireless HSIA available in all guestrooms * Hotel guests can also enjoy complimentary wireless access in the lobby area* Parking garage - Each building has their own garage for your added convenienceThe Executive Tower showcases:* Concierge desk * Porto Terra Tuscan Grill & Bar - featuring Northern Italian cuisine* Complimentary 24-hour fitness room with an indoor waveless lap pool * 24-hour self-serve business center * Wired and wireless HSIA available in all guestrooms * Hotel guests can also enjoy complimentary wireless access in the lobby area* Parking garage - Each building has their own garage for your added convenience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Portland & Executive Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Portland & Executive Tower Hotel Portland
Hilton Portland And Executive Tower
Hilton Portland Executive Hotel
Portland Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.