We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Portland & Executive Tower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Portland & Executive Tower to your Saves list
Hilton Portland & Executive Tower
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   921 SW 6th Ave, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Valet Parking
Ranked #52 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Junction City, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Girls Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Had a wonderful time at this very convenient downtown hotel. The valets were very overwhelmed with check outs and a couple of registering conferences, but they were still so quick and very polite. It was easy to "please wait for about 15 minutes" when it only really took them less than 5 minutes to bring our car around. Thank you! The rooms are very clean, comfortable beds and an all around helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing a review with our fellow travelers. I was happy to read that you enjoyed our rooms and staff. I trust this made for a very successful “Girls Night”! We hope to welcome you and your friends back to the Hilton Portland soon!

Take care,
Anthony Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    568
    253
    85
    41
See reviews for
169
289
62
588
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Have now stayed at the Hilton Portland & Executive Tower a couple of times. This is a great hotel for the business traveler - nothing fancy, just good quality you can count on. The rooms, while not huge, are comfortable and nicely appointed. Everything is clean and well maintained; breakfast at the restaurant includes a variety of good options. Location is great for both exploring downtown, and for easily getting out of the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your repeat business! I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stays and come to count on us when in Portland. We hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Portland & Executive Tower real soon!

Take care,
Anthony Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We booked our stay on Hotwire and got a pretty good deal. The hotel was nice and very usable. Nothing super special about it but it was a very comfortable stay. Staff was nice in general, concierges were especially helpful. Make sure to ask them for directions or for recommendations. Enjoyed using the pool and hot tub. The only downside we found was that there is no free internet there. Even the computers they have set up in the lobby are 30 cents a webpage or something unless you are checking in for your flight. Also, the first night we asked for a corkscrew to be sent up and it never arrived. The location of the hotel was very good for exploring everything on the West side of the river.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with our fellow travelers. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and our staff. I hope your exploration of the west side of the river went well and you join us again on your next journey.

Take care,
Anthony Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Located near Pioneer Square and Macy's --much of downtown Portland within walking distance. good standard of room and breakfast. City Centre traffic noise starts early on weekdays. If arriving by car make sure you know whether you are in the main hotel or tower because it is a completely different set of one way streets to get there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with everyone. We hope to see you again soon!

Take care,
Anthony Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Area
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is about conventions and meetings.

The rooms are rather small, though rumor has it that the Executive Tower rooms are supposed to be bigger. We don't know for sure since we had reserved one, and were unceremoniously placed in the "main" building without explanation or recourse. So much for reservations, but we were "lucky" to get a room I suppose. (Sarcasm intended)

The room was small, the bathroom about as small as one in a cheap hotel. Maintenance in the rooms is okay, but this is NOT a luxury hotel. It exists to serve its mainstay convention and meeting business. It is NOT a tourist hotel. Do not stay here for a leisure trip. There are much better choices for the same $ in the area.

I would say that the staff was very helpful at almost all times. They do some things correctly here.

I would criticize the food service end of this hotel as well. Prices are astronomical, and the quality of the food is rather mediocre. This goes for the food service in the banquet area as well. Again, the service is good. However, the product is outrageously priced. Hilton knows how to gouge the business and convention attendee.

Room Tip: Beg for one in the Executive tower if you plan to spend more than one day or if you are accompanied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review. I apologize if the room type your book was not available when you check in. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our staff and their service. We hope you have another opportunity to stay with us when in the Portland.

Take care,
Anthony Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just returned home from an overnight and all-day conference at the Portland Hilton. The food and service were excellent. We were offered an Italian buffet for lunch, which offered a lot of variety and something for everyone. It was hot and delicious. The bed the night prior was comfortable and the bath amenities were top-notch. Room service was excellent, although expensive. I ordered the scampi fetticinni and a diet cola with lemon. After delivery, I noticed no lemon had been included in my order, and sighed under my breath. An annoyance, but not enough to call them back. About five minutes later, I heard a knock on the door. The same room service attendant had returned with a glass full of lemon wedges and another unopened can of diet cola. I was impressed! And, I would definitely return to this property. Great location and conference rates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing a review on your short getaway. I will share you comment on our food with our chef and I was happy to read that our team was able to recover from a mistake. We hope to see you again soon.

Take care,
Anthony Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our family travels frequently. We've stayed at the Hilton downtown before, and generally expect high quality stay downtown. There are 2 buildings, the Hilton and Executive Tower, which is the more expensive property. We usually stay at the Hilton but rooms were unavailable so stayed at the Executive Tower. Rooms are always clean, service is efficient and friendly. Rooms are on the smallish size as this is an upgraded older building. Location is fantastic. Pool/spa is above average. Noise varies upon the floor (simply ask to be on a quiet floor).
The Exec Tower is quite a bit more expensive than the main Hilton, but we felt that there are no extra benefits. In fact, our room did not have a fridge or microwave. What's really annoying in 2012 is that there are extra charges for room Wifi. As we were paying over $200 for the room, this seemed overly petty to me. In sum, we recommend the Hilton but save your money and do not stay at the Executive Tower!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet floor. Stay in the main building rather than the more expensive Executive Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review and being a loyal returning guest. I am happy to read you enjoyed our amenities. Thank you for sharing the feedback about not having refrigerators in our rooms. Your review provides feedback that our hotel team needs to reevaluate guest needs and meet guest expectations in the future. We hope to see you again very soon.

Take care,
Anthony Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Portland & Executive Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Portland & Executive Tower

Address: 921 SW 6th Ave, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Portland
#40 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Portland & Executive Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 782
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Portland & Executive Tower hotel in Portland, consists of two separate buildings and combined they offer 782 guest rooms as well as: The Main building, remodeled in 2006 offers:* Complimentary Hilton Athletic Club - offering a large indoor pool, Jacuzzi®, extensive cardiovascular equipment, free weights, sauna and steam room, tanning, personal fitness training and massage services* Bistro 921 Restaurant & Bar - where you can enjoy classic American fare * Full-service business center - staffed Mon-Fri and 24-hour access with room key * Wireless HSIA available in all guestrooms * Hotel guests can also enjoy complimentary wireless access in the lobby area* Parking garage - Each building has their own garage for your added convenienceThe Executive Tower showcases:* Concierge desk * Porto Terra Tuscan Grill & Bar - featuring Northern Italian cuisine* Complimentary 24-hour fitness room with an indoor waveless lap pool * 24-hour self-serve business center * Wired and wireless HSIA available in all guestrooms * Hotel guests can also enjoy complimentary wireless access in the lobby area* Parking garage - Each building has their own garage for your added convenience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Portland & Executive Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Portland & Executive Tower Hotel Portland
Hilton Portland And Executive Tower
Hilton Portland Executive Hotel
Portland Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.