We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud room, but management was very helpful and accommodating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mark Spencer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Mark Spencer to your Saves list
The Mark Spencer
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   409 SW 11th Ave., Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Loud room, but management was very helpful and accommodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Our room was on an outside corner and we received lots of street noise that made it difficult to sleep. The management, however, offered a free night and to move us to a quieter room. So, if you are not a night owl, I would suggest asking for a room on the "quiet side" when you make a reservation. Other than the noise, the location was great- 2 blocks walking to Whole Foods. The room was nice enough. A little dated with the carpet and appliances, but that's no big deal. It was clean and nice to have a full sized fridge.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    326
    79
    32
    21
See reviews for
145
356
101
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

The Mark Spencer Hotel is primely located and a great place to stay if you head from Seattle for a weekend trip. The staff were helpful and directed us to the various places of interest around the city - for a book lover it is also nice to be so close to Powell's.
I cannot remember the exact room type, but I remember them as spacious and well-furnished, for the room rates. The beds were comfortable and the fold-away bed in the couch was as comfortable as a fold-away couch can be. Some of the furniture could use a pick-me up.
I cannot comment much on the food, as we only ate sparingly for breakfast. Overall, the breakfast selection was complete. The choices of tea were also quite lovely. Being so centrally located, there are many great restaurants and bars within short walking distance.
I would recommend friends to stay here and I look forward to staying here on another weekend in Portland.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Living in the suburbs of Portland, my wife and I often miss the vibrancy of the downtown Portland area. To that end we like to book a room downtown, hang out a little bit and maybe see a show or movie, and have a great dinner.

We found the Mark Spencer to be a very comfortable boutique hotel right in the heart of Portland. If I was coming in from out of town, I would consider this a great place to land. They have a great wine and cheese happy hour, tea and cookies in the afternoon and a wonderful continental breakfast in the morning. Rumor is the rooftop garden area will be open soon that will afford beautiful views of our city.

The amenities are nice but it's really the staff at the Mark Spencer Hotel that make your visit memorable. Every request was honored in a courteous, timely manner. They make you feel like family.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

My wife and I stay at the Mark Spencer whenever we are going to downtown Portland. We've been going back there sporadically for ever since we discovered it eight years ago. This time it was to spend our Pearl anniversary in the Pearl District.

It's in a reviving neighborhood on the edge of the Pearl District. That means it is very convenient for the theater, art museum, great Pacific northwest dining, and best of all Powell's, the bookstore for those who truly love books. Yes, the area is a little bit dodgy, but that is true of all inner city downtown areas nowadays. The plusses way more than outweigh the minuses.

The owners obviously care about the hotel and are constantly upgrading their rooms. True, some of the appointments of a residential hotel, such as the kitchenettes, remain, but they add to the hotel's somewhat quirky character. They now offer a better than average continental breakfast, cookies and coffee in the evening and wine in the afternoon.

They also have spectacular weekend packages including items like tickets to the theater or the art museum.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Beautiful lobby and warm inviting atmoshere. Nice morning continental breaktfast, also wine and good eats in the afternoon. Eco friendly, with fine bath towels and bedding . We felt at home and the location allowed us to adventure out into the Pearl District with no problem. We are retired and appreciate a fair price in lodging and friendly staff. Thank you again. We will back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

The Mark Spencer operates the Washington Plaza apartments. I stayed for six nights in a delightful studio while exploring downtown and the city via public transit . I was treated exceptionally well. It was a small inconvenience to have to walk one block to the complimentary breakfast and 24-hour-coffee service, easily offset by the affordable price. I'd return there in a Portland minute.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Yes this hotel is in the center of the Pearl district. Yes the rooms are very clean, and a little outdated (hotel built in early 1900's) but the staff transports me to a land far away. They cannot do enough for you, the smallest mention of needing something & they immediately try to assist you. This is a small hotel, and on my stay was full. The staff could not have worked harder to ensure their guests never knew it. I have traveled alot on business, but never have I had the housekeeping supervisor check to make sure I was happy with the cleanliness of my room. I think this is a charming hotel. Room had living room furniture and a cute dining set for 4 people, mini fully stocked kitchen. Seperate bedroom with flat screen. Whole foods close by, and the Powell Street bookstore and Jakes resturant w/in walking distance. Stay here, you will feel like royalty.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mark Spencer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark Spencer

Address: 409 SW 11th Ave., Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#23 Business Hotel in Portland
#31 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mark Spencer 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Mark Spencer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mark Spencer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.