We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mark Spencer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Mark Spencer to your Saves list
The Mark Spencer
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   409 SW 11th Ave., Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Interesting venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

The Mark Spencer is a little funky, but still provided a good place to stay. Its location is prime: the streetcar line right in front, one block from Powell's City of Books and walking distance from lots of great restaurants and the Saturday Market. The included breakfast is quite adequate.

The rooms, however, were a bit more downscale than I had expected. Although we liked the sitting space in the junior suite, the closets were oddly placed and the bedroom was miniscule: barely enough room for the queen bed and one nightstand. My husband had about 12" clearance between his side of the bed and the wall. The curtains were dark enough but not generous enough to completely block out the very bright street lights (we were on the 2nd floor). The carpet in the sitting room was torn.

Still, for a very good bargain, I would recommend it with those caveats. The rooms were clean and the service very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    325
    79
    32
    21
See reviews for
144
356
101
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

We traveled to Portland for a concert and I chose the Mark Spencer based on its location (proximity to the concert venue, the Crystal Ballroom) and the fact that it was dog friendly.

This is probably the MOST pet friendly hotel I've stayed in. There is a chalkboard with all of the doggy guest names in the lobby, and our pooch received a large welcome packet. There were treats, poo bags, dog-friendly restaurants, and recommendations for walks and off leash play areas. There was a food bowl in the room and the hotel also offers furniture slipcovers if you want them.

The location, in the Pearl District, is also very central and pleasant. We were steps away from the concert, the North Park Blocks, and our favorite shops and restaurants.

Complimentary breakfast offerings are predictable but good enough to start the day. The 24 hour automatic beverage machine in the lobby was also a highlight for both me and the kids. Help yourself to hot cocoa, lattes, and chai any time, with the push of a few buttons. There is also a weekday wine reception on weeknights, but we arrived as it was winding down.

The lobby is large and comfortable. There's a computer for checking email, printing boarding passes and so on. There are racks of maps and shopping guides, full of helpful information. And, of course, the aforementioned beverage machine.

Trade-off's? This is NOT the W or another high end hotel. The rooms are NOT large, though our one-bedroom "junior" suite was big enough for us, our two teens (one on the hide-a-bed and the other on an air mattress), and our dog. But only barely.

Nor should you expect a stunning view from your room - ours overlooked a narrow alley. But the windows opened to fresh air and we didn't plan to spend much time in the room anyways. So it was not a let down for us.

Parking is in a garage located under the building. Rates weren't as bad as I expected. Since this is an older building the ceiling is very low. Our Highlander with a roof box barely made it in without scraping the top.

Would I stay at the Mark Spencer again? Absolutely, yes - especially if I'm traveling with my dog.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayucos, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

Great location and staff. Got the room amenities I requested, and more! Room was VERY large, airy, and light. The historic-style room floorplan gave it a nice character actually. Room could be updated, but that would probably translate into higher rates which i wouldn't want to trade for. The promo rate through the hotel's own site was excellent. I'll be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

clean and comfortable rooms;great staff;nice breakfast;great location;very affordable
i recommend this hotel to all..........

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleboro MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

My family--fourteen people from two to 85, gathered for Reed College graduation. The Mark Spencer was a bit of a hike, but we wanted to be near Powell Books and the many attractions of downtown Portland. The hotel is an older one, renovated many times (watch out for rooms numbered x01--they're near the elevators!), more interesting than elegant. But the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Breakfast was simple but excellent.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

I arrived via Amtrak and the location of the hotel was excellent for me, an easy walk to and from the train station, and also convenient to all the sites I was visiting in downtown Portland. The hotel is very conveniently located for using the Portland Street car train, which I did several times and is free in the main downtown portland area.

I very much appreciated the level off accomodations at the hotel, everything was very clean and in good working order, the rooms were spacious, and nice, without being over the top outrageously luxurious which is unneccessary and wasteful anyway. Its an older building, so it has some quirks, but nothing I would consider a complaint, if you want everything to be modern and brand new, you might not like some of the rooms, but if you appreciate well maintained old wood and brick work this building has it!

I enjoyed the breakfast buffet (fruit, juice, rolls, toast, bagels, pastries) and the self-serve espresso machine worked well, was fun, and actually made a pretty good latte. The front desk people were very friendly and helpful.

I can't really think of any problems or complaints. My biggest complaint, and this really isn't even a complaint, was that the in-room wi-fi did not work very well for me. It had trouble connecting and often kicked me back to the main hotel or ISP home page. The hotel manager contacted me later, and said they were going through an upgrade with the wi-fi provider and were working out some bugs.

I had an excellent stay, and would love to visit again and would definitely recommend Mark Spencer to my friends. I think the Mark Spencer is an excellent combination of good value and a nice level of luxury for the price.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
methow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

We read reviews that complained about this being a noisy place. For us it wasn't at all. We had a Junior Suite that was comfortable and very quiet. Staff was helpful, the room was well maintained, twin beds very comfortable. (the one of us that took the hide-a-bed said it wasn't bad - for a sofabed) Access to the streetcar was another bonus. We planned a sisters reunion here - it was a perfect location. FYI - Parking was $16 a day, but very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mark Spencer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark Spencer

Address: 409 SW 11th Ave., Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#24 Business Hotel in Portland
#31 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mark Spencer 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Mark Spencer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mark Spencer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.