We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and lovely staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mark Spencer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Mark Spencer to your Saves list
The Mark Spencer
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   409 SW 11th Ave., Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Well located and lovely staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We overnighted here on our road trip. Feels like the hotel is a refurbishment/conversion of old apartments. The rooms are spacious with very private bathrooms( am I alone in thinking this is a huge plus?) nice little kitchenette and super friendly/ helpful staff. The elevators are a bit small to negotiate with a lot of luggage but not a real problem.i never went but the family reported a lovely breakfast too. Very good location close to lots of good restaurants, bookstores and delis. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I have no idea about the swimming pool or kiddies activities but could not delete my rating !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at The Mark Spencer, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for including us on your road trip! It's always nice to find a comfortable bed at the end of a long day of traveling and we're happy you found us! I'm sure all the nearby restaurants presented an abundance of choices for you. Did you find your favorite? We truly appreciate your choosing to stay with us and wish you safe travels!

Warm Regards,

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    340
    81
    33
    22
See reviews for
151
365
105
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, SC
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This property was everything we wanted plus more!
The staff was terrific- Brian and Laura on the desk gave us great directions to attractions- Michael
added great advice on food and entertainment. The location is in a beautiful neighborhood close to Jimmy Mac's Jazz club, Powell Books, Gerding Theater and bus stations.
Our king suite was lovely with refrigerator and stove, plus the breakfast, cookies and coffee mid afternoon and wine and cheese at 5- what a bargain! Great comfy bed too.
This place rocks- we will never stay anywhere else in Portland.
Bravo to all!

Room Tip: King suite is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at The Mark Spencer, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you so much for the compliments to our staff! They are well acquainted with our beautiful city and love helping you get the most from your visit to Portland. I hope you were able to visit the famous food carts while you were here. A true collection of delicious and creative fare! I would like to personally thank you for being our guest. It was our pleasure and we hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The reason for this review is our delight with the amazing staff and management during our recent stay. My husband and I stayed at the Mark Spencer on our wedding night, almost 15 years ago. We stayed again this weekend, with our kids this time, as a "stay-cation". My husband emailed ahead, unbeknownst to me, asking if the hotel could provide a little something that is NOT part of their regular package offerings, as a surprise to me. And there on the (very comfy) bed was a silver tray, with a half-size bottle of a local port wine, a box of JaCiva's truffles, and two champagne flutes. The staff were very helpful, and also provided a few goodies for the kids. None of which showed up on the bill! We'll definitely stay again, after the renovations are done!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at The Mark Spencer, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Happy Anniversary! It was an honor to have you return to The Mark Spencer after 15 years. I'm happy you enjoyed your "stay-cation" with us. My staff had fun getting things together for you and your family. I hope you will return on a future anniversary so we may show you the beautiful renovations to our guestrooms and public areas - you'll be amazed! It was truly our pleasure to have you and your family as our guests. We look forward to seeing you again!
Warm Regards,

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The hotel is in a good hotel for city wandering .Close to everything.We "made an offer" on their website and got a very spacious one bedroom,siting room plus kitchenette for a reasonable price.The parking was also only $18 which is rare for a city hotel..They had a complimentary wine tasting which introduced us to Oregon wines and good continental breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at The Mark Spencer, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
So happy you were able to join us for our evening wine reception! It's quite popular as it allows our guests to taste different wines from Oregon and Washington as well as mingle with other guests and staff. It's one of our favorite daily events too! I hope you found some fun Portland restaurants and shops that became your favorites as you wandered through town. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The hotel is in a great location. Light rail, bars, restaurants, parks, food carts, and shops are all within a few minutes walk. We were in town for a half marathon and to watch the Timbers play and found no need for transportation other than our legs. If you want a place that is near it all and doesn't require you to have a car, The Mark Spencer definitely fits that description.

We stayed in a junior queen suite which, while older, was also a very well maintained and clean room. The bedding was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The furniture in the "suite" section of the room was older but also well maintained (no holes, stains, or signs of wear on the couch) If you are a person that needs to stay at something that looks shiny and new, this probably won't work for you. If you like to stay at something that has a bit of charm and is well maintained, this hotel is value for money.

Other things you may care about:
While a light rail runs in front of the hotel, I couldn't hear it from our room which was facing and just above the rail line (it occurred to me two days in that I should be hearing the light rail go by and I hadn't).
Free wifi
Free breakfast (standard continental fare)
Free coffee, latte, cappuccino, etc. throughout the day
Free wine and cheese reception
Very friendly and helpful staff

I would definitely stay here again the next time I am in Portland.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at The Mark Spencer, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
A half marathon and the Timbers game? You were really on the go during your visit to Portland! I'm happy you found the beds to be comfortable - a nice ending to your busy days! As I read your review listing our complimentary amenities, I saw the one item that meant the most - our friendly and helpful staff. I will be sure to pass along your comments to them - it will make their day! Thank you for being our guest!
Warm Regards,

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Located in the heart of Portland, this older building is a great location. You can walk everywhere. The executive suite included a combo living room/kitchen. The staff was helpful. Breakfast was easy. Parking is available. A good value for the price especially in a big city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at The Mark Spencer, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We get many comments on our location, but it's certainly worth mentioning again! Portland is such a walkable city with short city blocks, easy to use public transportation with shops and restaurants everywhere! And who doesn't love tax-free shopping? We would love to welcome you back again the next time you visit our beautiful city. Thank you for staying with us - it was our pleasure to be your host!
All the best,

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This old girl was typical of older renovated hotels but very clean and the a/c worked very well . You have to expect a smaller bathroom an older kitchenette and slow elevators . My only quibble was there was no signage for the ice machine but after a brief search I consulted the front desk to discover it was in the basement .
The doorman was very helpful in selecting restaurants .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at The Mark Spencer, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
I enjoyed reading your comment about "the old girl" - she is definitely in the process of getting a refresh! Portland has so many beautiful older buildings and The Mark Spencer is proud to be in their company. As we move forward with renovations, we are conscious of keeping the beauty of the building intact. We have many exciting plans for her future and hope you will return to see the creative use of space that will be incorporated into the guestrooms and public areas. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mark Spencer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark Spencer

Address: 409 SW 11th Ave., Portland, OR 97205
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#26 Business Hotel in Portland
#32 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mark Spencer 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mark Spencer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mark Spencer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.