We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mark Spencer

Save Saved
You added The Mark Spencer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mark Spencer
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   409 SW 11th Ave., Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 133 hotels in Portland
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just a few steps from the shops and restaurants in Old Town and the Pearl District, the Mark Spencer is a great choice. We had booked this trip several months in advance, and though the hotel was fully booked, they upgraded our room to a suite. I can't provide information on their rooms, but the bedroom in the suite was small, with about twelve inches of space between the end of the king bed and a dresser. That made getting around a bit difficult, but since we had a suite, what little time we were in our room was in the living area, so it wasn't too bad. Bedding and linens were topnotch. Their website said there was a coffee maker in the room (very important to us), but in the suite, which had a kitchenette, there was no coffee provided, so we had to go downstairs to fetch it. However, they did have a nice espresso machine there, which actually made good coffee, espresso, and latte. I can't say if just a room would have had coffee provided. We also had a bathtub, which made my wife very happy. There was no safe in our room. Breakfast was included, and was decent. Wifi was free, and worked fine, but was slow. Questions we had of the staff were answered professionally and accurately, and everyone in the hotel seemed tuned in to making sure we were comfortable and happy. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    305
    74
    32
    21
See reviews for
137
321
99
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Veneta, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Located downtown near so many wonderful shops, museums, and eating establishments, this wonderful completely homey place to stay is a wonderful relief from the plastic world of some major hotels. The STAFF is terrific. I do not get to go that often and yet each and every time I visit, I feel a bit like I am going home. The parking garage affords a place to keep my vehicle safe and although it seems to be a bit pricey, finding a parking place in the city, keeping it fed so as not to get a ticket and paying for a ticket is far more costly. In addition, I feel my vehicle is safe from accidental activities.
The wine bar and snacks are delightful; the hot beverages machine provides some of the best coffee and hot chocolate ever [other drinks as well.. but these are my favorites] and breakfast fair keeps us both smiling.
The rooms are complete with a small and useful kitchen, comfortable beds and wonderfully rich towels for the tub/shower experience.
I don't think we'd stay any where else in Portland... did I mention it is on the public transportation line and affords free or inexpensive trips to most every spot in town? If I didn't, I should have. I can park my vehicle in a safe place, travel about town to do the things I love [theater and art museums with a stop at Powell's bookstore before heading off to the theater] and return to the cozy home with wonderful staff.... Now that is what I call a WIN WIN trip for me and for you.

Room Tip: we loved our room - the room faced the east and had windows so that we could see over the town.. nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, IL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel is within walking distance to fun neighborhoods, restaurants, food carts, and shopping. We loved the afternoon wine tasting and treats in the lounge each day and had our fair share of espresso drinks from the self-serve machine! Bedding was super soft and comfy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willowbrook, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I were at the Mark Spencer to see our nephew perform at the Portland Center for Arts a few blocks away. We liked the room, and even though not there for a long time appreciate the frig. and stove for extended stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, Usa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Mark Spencer was top-notch! The staff was helpful and friendly, the room was really a suite, with a separate sitting room and a kitchenette. It was quiet and clean. It is convenient to everything we wanted to do and see. What put this hotel above others was all the extras: breakfast in the morning, 24 hour coffee and espresso machine, cookies and tea mid afternoon, and wine tasting and appetizers late afternoon. They have a nice atrium where people gather to eat and talk, so you naturally get to know others who a staying there. We will return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I love this hotel for many reasons. 1) the service: you get a real person on the phone who is helpful and patient. 2) the rooms are so '50s: small bedroom and bath, but with a kitchenette and living room! 3) There's a friendly feel to the place. I'll always stay here when in Portland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventura
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Mark Spencer as part of a 35 day US road trip, based on the preponderance of great comments on Trip Advisor, which I relied on for recommendations on an 8,800 mile trek. Road weary, and pulling in late in the day, we were exuberantly greeted by the doorman (Mike?) and the inside staff, and made to feel welcome by all those we encountered throughout the stay.

We were upgraded to a third floor suite (snap) which was basically a small apartment. The room was very clean, well maintained, with a very comfortable bed. A bit crowed for a sufficient breakfast, but homey, as folks were gathered around the available dining and lobby spaces. The coffee/expresso machine was a treat, making all sorts of on-demand quality brews.

The location on the edge of the Pearl district was great for our city walking tours, and close to great restaurants. Great deli right out the front door. Hats off to the staff and management for a fine experience. The building is historic, so expect character, not glitz. The rates were a real deal when compared to some of the other similar properties in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mark Spencer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark Spencer

Address: 409 SW 11th Ave., Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#24 Spa Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#35 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mark Spencer 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Mark Spencer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mark Spencer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.