We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mark Spencer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Mark Spencer to your Saves list
The Mark Spencer
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   409 SW 11th Ave., Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We recently stayed in room 309, which enabled us to have a small full kitchen...even though the rooms are older, they are extremely clean, and the entire hotel is full of character. The free morning breakfast, afternoon wine-tasting, the all-day, all-night gourmet coffee available and free morning paper at your door added to the great experience. The staff was very attentive, courteous, and always welcoming. The Pearl District location is perfect for exploring and experiencing the tastes and activities of downtown Portland. We will return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeri R, General Manager at The Mark Spencer, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Well...you hit all the things I usually say. Everyone loves working here (including me) and it shows. You can have the newest room in the city, but if the staff isn't on top of it, your stay will be anything but good. We're in the first phase of an extensive renovation and the rooms will be beautiful. The character will still be here and the hotel will still be spotless. What won't change is the staff. And we'll still be a few steps from the Peal District. Our good value and everything you love about the hotel will always make this a great place to stay. Next time you’re here, be sure to check out our new neighbor: Cheryl‘s on 12th. It’s a great restaurant just around the corner from the hotel and our guests are giving it high scores. Additionally, the hotel partners with the local arts community, which you may already have noticed by the interesting and art-related packages we offer on our website. Thanks for sending in your comments and we hope you're able to come back soon. Jeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    340
    81
    33
    22
See reviews for
151
365
105
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed one night on my way to Seattle, after paying through the nose at the Kimpton. The Mark Spencer was affordable and the room was very nice. Views were nice and I loved the fact that they left the brick walls visible in the rooms from the original construction. Nice continental breakfast and happy hour, although the happy hour venue is quite small. Staff was top notch and everything was clean and professional. I should have spent my whole stay there. Loved the location, too, adjacent to the Pearl District and lots of cool shops and restaurants. Highly recommend

Room Tip: Loved the corner room and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeri R, General Manager at The Mark Spencer, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Good morning Monique, So glad to know you appreciate our incredible value, spotless rooms and location. Our full continental breakfast, cookies that are baked by our employees in the afternoon and evening wine reception with pizza bites, cheese and crackers, and yet more cookies add to your comfort. Being a few steps away from the Pearl District is certainly an advantage, as you mentioned. And if you don't want to go more than around the corner, be sure to check out our new neighbor Cheryl's Restaurant next time you're here. It features a great menu; you won't be disappointed. We're glad you recognize the value we offer; thank you for taking time to share your experience. We share all comments with the employee and they appreciate hearing first-hand from our guests. I hope you can come back soon; feel free to look me up if there's anything I can do for you here. Best, Jeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We recently spent 6 nights at the Mark Spencer Hotel. Our experience there was exceptional on every level and the hotel itself proved to be the highlight of our trip making everything else in PDX more enjoyable. The amenities and level of service far exceeds what one would expect for such a reasonably priced room; evening wine tastings, tea and cookies, excellent quality coffee/espresso machine, nice breakfast, morning NY Times brought to the room each morning and all part of the deal. The Staff were consistently friendly and went out of their way to accomodate and answer questions. Additionally, our room had a small kitchen. A small luxury to be able to make an easy meal or heat up the leftovers from any one of the memorable nearby restaurants. Makes planning for future trips to Portland easy - we'll know right where to stay without having to shop around. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Check out the junior suites which feature a small living room with couch and kitchenette. You'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeri R, General Manager at The Mark Spencer, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Bill, Wow - you hit all the places I usually talk about. It's a great way for me to start off my Monday. Thank you! What hotel could ask for anything more than to be told they're 'exceptional'! I have a simple philosophy: tell people what you're going to do and then do it. Sounds easy ….but think of how frequently that doesn't happen. Our employees take pride in providing an affordable, comfortable and memorable stay. Your note says you'll be back, so we'll look forward to seeing you next time and I hope to meet you, perhaps at our evening wine party and a few glasses of wine. If you have time, you might want to check out our new restaurant neighbor, Cheryl’s on 12th. It's just around the corner and our guests tell us it's a thumbs up. I can agree with that...from personal experience. Thanks again, Jeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When the Mallory changed hands, many of us found the Mark Spencer - and so glad we did! Two of my favorite places - Powell Books and Jakes - are close. The hotel staff are all friendly and knowledgable - and the rooms are very nic.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Loved this hotel & plan to return in March. The location is ideal and walking distance to many restaurants and shops. Parking is secure and reasonably priced. Although renovations were ongoing while we were there, we never experienced any inconvenience during our stay. The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. We loved their continental breakfast and wine reception in the early evening. We have stayed at other hotels in Portland (close to the waterfront) but prefer this hotel because of its location and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willamette Valley, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed there so we didn't have to drive home after a concert, and we truly wished we had more time to hang out there. The location is amazing! The food carts are a block and a half away, which is a truly Portlandia experience, and the Keller Auditorium is an easy walk away. There are great restaurants nearby, and Powell's is just about next door. The parking garage is wonderfully convenient. With all these attractions, we weren't all that concerned about the quality of the hotel itself, but we were delighted when we got there.
Cookies, tea and coffee in the afternoon, wine and snacks in the evening, and continental breakfast are all included in the already very reasonable price. The beds are ridiculously comfortable, and the rooms are great! I love having access to the kitchen, with all the utensils and kitchenware available (in case the food carts are closed, I guess...), and the room is very clean. Service is impeccable and friendly. We will make a point of staying overnight in Portland more often!

Room Tip: I have heard that you should try to avoid the rooms nearest the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 day stay in this lovely hotel. The breakfast was very nice and the coffee was great. Being within walking distance of Powells was wonderful and it was so nice to have parking available. We went for a vacation and really had a great time. The staff was friendly and accomodating. We'll definitely go back next time we go to Portland.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mark Spencer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark Spencer

Address: 409 SW 11th Ave., Portland, OR 97205
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#26 Business Hotel in Portland
#31 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mark Spencer 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mark Spencer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mark Spencer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.