We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with great hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mark Spencer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Mark Spencer to your Saves list
The Mark Spencer
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   409 SW 11th Ave., Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 135 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location with great hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Whenever I come to visit Oregon, I stay at this hotel.
It feels like home and makes feel happy.
Every staffs of the hotel are very nice and the hotel is just like an American classic.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawnkim33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I can think of no other hotel in the US that provides such a warm and caring environment for people who wish to travel with their pets. It really meant a lot to us to have our dogs by our side. Thank you for the special welcome goodie bag . All of the staff were very kind and helpful. The Mark Spencer is one of Portland's best vintage hotel values as you are close to the city's trendy Pearl district and downtown. Be sure to check out the cosmic convergence of food vans two blocks away. I give this hotel five paws.
Nancy B.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattleXpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is right in the heart of Portland, just on the edge of the Pearl District, and two blocks from Powell's, Whole Foods, and many good coffee shops (Stumptown Coffee!) and restaurants. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, and the atmosphere is cheerful. The newer rooms are really lovely, so you might inquire about those; we stayed in one on the first floor, which was very pretty. The older rooms are a bit old-fashioned, and a bit worn, but they're very clean, and it's nice (especially for families with children) to have a little stove where you can make tea, and a fridge to keep yogurts and other items in, for snacks. Right outside the hotel, you can hop onto the trolley taking you up to the Art Museum and wonderful restaurants like South Park.

We will definitely make the Mark Spencer our hotel for our upcoming trips to Portland. It already feels like a home away from home.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room, or a corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is very nice and in a great location. It's a bit old.. but still nice and well taken care of. The staff was friendly, albeit not the most helpful. They seemed a bit disinterested in helping our group when we asked for recommendations of where to eat in the area. Breakfast was a bit small but loved the complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoons.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AHDeeVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is comfortable, attractive, has great staff, and offers lots of perks: breakfast is included, free wireless, afternoon tea and cookies, evening wine. The Mark Spencer is in a great location. The Pearl area of Portland offers so many dining and shopping opportunities (Powells City of Books!) all within easy walking distance.

My family stayed here in the summer of 2011 while checking out colleges for my son. When my husband and I came back for his orientation week at one of the Portland colleges, we stayed at a place recommended by that college. What a mistake! It was expensive, offered none of the generous perks that Mark Spencers offers, and the staff were aloof to the point of coldness.

When I decided to go to Portland to visit my son over a long weekend, Mark Spencer was the only place I considered staying. And it will be where I always stay during the next four years of college visits.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanneL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This wonderful, quiet residence is tucked into the hustle and bustle of downtown, but you are worlds away once you step through the doors. The Hotel is classic, but is undergoing extensive room renovations at the present time. The upgrades will be nice, but rest assured, you will enjoy your stay whether you have a newer or older-style room. Very comfy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Mark Spencer is conveniently close to a freeway for easy access. It is also located in The Pearl section of Portland. This means there are great restaurants, stores, and coffee shops within easy walking distance. The fabulous bookstore, Powell's, is just two blocks away. We stayed in Room 314, a king executive suite. The bed was very comfy with about 8 pillows! There was a small kitchenette which we only used to chill some wine. A flat screen TV was in the corner. Our only complaint was the sofa bed - the cushions need to be replaced as it is very uncomfortable to sit on. We did not sleep on it. The Mark Spencer has an adequate continental breakfast. We missed the Wine Hour, so cannot give a report. Enjoyed the 24 hour coffee/hot chocolate machine in the lobby. All the staff we encountered were very friendly.
This was a wonderful getaway!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#3 of 135 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#20 of 135 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 1,538 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 135 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,889 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 135 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#9 of 135 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mark Spencer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark Spencer

Address: 409 SW 11th Ave., Portland, OR 97205
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mark Spencer 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Mark Spencer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing