We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but aging” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mark Spencer

Save Saved
You added The Mark Spencer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mark Spencer
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   409 SW 11th Ave., Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 132 Hotels in Portland
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice but aging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is very nice and in a great location. It's a bit old.. but still nice and well taken care of. The staff was friendly, albeit not the most helpful. They seemed a bit disinterested in helping our group when we asked for recommendations of where to eat in the area. Breakfast was a bit small but loved the complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoons.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    313
    75
    32
    21
See reviews for
139
330
100
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is comfortable, attractive, has great staff, and offers lots of perks: breakfast is included, free wireless, afternoon tea and cookies, evening wine. The Mark Spencer is in a great location. The Pearl area of Portland offers so many dining and shopping opportunities (Powells City of Books!) all within easy walking distance.

My family stayed here in the summer of 2011 while checking out colleges for my son. When my husband and I came back for his orientation week at one of the Portland colleges, we stayed at a place recommended by that college. What a mistake! It was expensive, offered none of the generous perks that Mark Spencers offers, and the staff were aloof to the point of coldness.

When I decided to go to Portland to visit my son over a long weekend, Mark Spencer was the only place I considered staying. And it will be where I always stay during the next four years of college visits.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This wonderful, quiet residence is tucked into the hustle and bustle of downtown, but you are worlds away once you step through the doors. The Hotel is classic, but is undergoing extensive room renovations at the present time. The upgrades will be nice, but rest assured, you will enjoy your stay whether you have a newer or older-style room. Very comfy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Mark Spencer is conveniently close to a freeway for easy access. It is also located in The Pearl section of Portland. This means there are great restaurants, stores, and coffee shops within easy walking distance. The fabulous bookstore, Powell's, is just two blocks away. We stayed in Room 314, a king executive suite. The bed was very comfy with about 8 pillows! There was a small kitchenette which we only used to chill some wine. A flat screen TV was in the corner. Our only complaint was the sofa bed - the cushions need to be replaced as it is very uncomfortable to sit on. We did not sleep on it. The Mark Spencer has an adequate continental breakfast. We missed the Wine Hour, so cannot give a report. Enjoyed the 24 hour coffee/hot chocolate machine in the lobby. All the staff we encountered were very friendly.
This was a wonderful getaway!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed there from Oct. 24th to Oct. 27th. Rooms and hotel were very clean. Staff is very proffessional and friendly. Rooms wer very clean, maid service was excelant
Only concerns Contintal breakfast could have a few more items. Parking at $ 18.00 per nite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a corner room suite, had beautiful views of downtown. I loved how they kept the inside decor to the same period of time as the hotels age but added the niceities such as a down comforter on the bed, loafs of bed pillows, the pictures on the wall were vintage prints. There was a kitchenette, nice if you wanted to bring your own food. There were flat screen TVs in the bedroom and the living room. The bed was so comfortable, I even slept longer than I would have normally. The new windows opened so we could listen to the neighborhood nightlife as well as when the morning unfolded. The service desk was so helpful, gave us a map marked wth places we wanted to see, and even offered umbrella's as it was! pouring rain., I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and when I come back thru Portland, I will be staying here again. I should also mention, they have breakfast, an expresso machine that's available 24/7, wine tasting and appetizers in the early evening.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Loved my bed!! The kitchen in the double queen suite was adorable - though we didn't need it as we dined at restaurants, still it would be very convenient for those who do.

The complimentary continental breakfast was nice though it seemed a little out of date for guests wants and needs - i.e. there are options for the oatmeal that was offered - I personally don't eat Quaker instant oats, instead there are incredible instant oatmeals that are produced in Portland - my main suggestion is get LOCAL yummies in there (as Portland offers so much for the hotel to take advantage of)!

Otherwise I loved the staff, the cleanliness, the responsiveness, the pet friendliness, etc...great job!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mark Spencer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark Spencer

Address: 409 SW 11th Ave., Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#26 Business Hotel in Portland
#34 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mark Spencer 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Mark Spencer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mark Spencer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.